Page: 2 of 2
In this report

Toaster Ovens: Ratings of Sources

Total of 10 Sources
1. ConsumerReports.org
Not Dated
Toaster Oven Ratings
by Editors of ConsumerReports.org
Our AssessmentEditors of ConsumerReports.org test a wide variety of toaster ovens for baking, broiling, ease of use and cleaning, color range, full batch and successive batch performance, and the ability to evenly toast one slice of bread. There are quite a few consumer reviews on toaster ovens as well, but editors do not take them into account. Products are rated on a scale up to 100 and are ranked against each other as well.
2. Cook's Illustrated
July 2014
Toaster Ovens
by Editors of Cook's Illustrated
Our AssessmentThis test was originally published in Cook's Illustrated magazine in March of 2011, and was updated in July 2014. Eleven toaster ovens are tested by editors of Cook's Illustrated. The ovens are evaluated for cooking performance, accuracy, toasting and ease of use. Two are Highly Recommended, one is Recommended (and is designated as a Best Buy), four are Recommended with Reservations, and four are Not Recommended.
3. TheSweetHome.com
Sept. 29, 2015
The Best Toaster Oven
by Brendan Nystedt
Our AssessmentIn the latest update of TheSweetHome.com's toaster oven report, Brendan Nystedt adds 20 hours of additional testing on some new ovens; resulting in a shakeup of two of the top picks. All of these toaster ovens are tested by toasting breads, baking cookies and cooking pizza bites. The Panasonic Flash Xpress, Cuisinart TOB-260 and the Hamilton Beach 31230 ultimately come out on top.
4. CNET
Sept. 8, 2013
Don't call them toasters: We test out high-end toaster ovens
by Ry Crist
Our AssessmentRy Crist and other CNET editors test four popular toaster ovens, including the Breville BOV800XL, the Panasonic Flash Xpress, the Frigidaire Professional 6-slice and the Cuisinart CSO-300. Each oven gets a thorough test and review, including pictures and comparisons to other tested ovens, and is given an up-to-5-star score.
5. Amazon.com
As of November 2015
Toaster Ovens
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentAmazon.com has hundreds of toaster ovens in all models and price ranges. It is an excellent source for real world reviews of toaster ovens over the long-term and to see how they hold up over time. It's also a great way to judge performance and ease-of-use from actual home cooks. The top-rated toaster ovens get hundreds, some thousands, of customer reviews.
6. Walmart.com
As of November 2015
Toaster Ovens
by Contributors to Walmart.com
Our AssessmentToaster ovens are well-represented at Walmart.com, which is a particularly good resource for evaluating reviews of more affordable toaster ovens, such as Hamilton Beach and Black & Decker. Many of these appliances get hundreds of reviews, and tend to be higher-rated than the same item at other sites. Reviewers have the option of noting if they would recommend the toaster oven to a friend.
7. BestBuy.com
As of November 2015
Toaster Ovens
by Contributors to BestBuy.com
Our AssessmentToaster ovens at BestBuy.com don't get quite as many reviews as at Amazon.com or Walmart.com, but some get several hundred. They also carry a very good selection, with quite a few having overall averages of more than 4 stars. Reviewers can also say if they would recommend the product to others.
8. BedBathAndBeyond.com
As of November 2015
Toaster Ovens
by Contributors to BedBathandBeyond.com
Our AssessmentBedBathandBeyond.com again has fewer toaster ovens overall and they have fewer reviews, but it's still a good resource for some of the most popular products. Reviews are also broken down by both value and quality, and reviewers have the opportunity to indicate whether or not they would recommend the product to a friend.
9. Macys.com
As of November 2015
Toaster Ovens
by Contributors to Macys.com
Our AssessmentMacys.com carries a relatively scant number of some higher-end toaster ovens, although some have a decent number of reviews. Cuisinart, Breville and KitchenAid are the top-rated products here. Reviewers not only can recommend the product, they also often provide demographic information, like their level of cooking skill.
10. Good Housekeeping
September 2011
Toaster Oven Reviews
by Editors of Good Housekeeping
Our AssessmentTesters at the Good Housekeeping Research Institute (GHRI) test 34 toaster ovens and give each a thorough overview. This is an older review and some of the toaster ovens are discontinued, but many are still readily available and are top-rated products elsewhere.

Back to top