Sponsored Links
Page: 6 of 6
In this report

See Also

Toilets: Ratings of Sources

Total of 18 Sources
1. ConsumerReports.org
February 2012
Toilet Ratings
by Editors of ConsumerReports.org
Our AssessmentEditors evaluate 20 single-flush toilets and six dual-flush toilets, including both gravity- and pressure-assist models. They test liquid waste removal using blue dye and consider how well flushing rinses the bowl's interior. In the solid-waste removal test, they use a mixture of baby wipes, plastic balls, sponges and tubes, and also evaluate noise. Ten single-flush models and one dual-flush toilet are recommended.
2. Maximum Performance
Not dated
Toilet Performance Testing
by Editors of Maximum Performance
Our AssessmentThe Maximum Performance (MaP) Testing Program conducts independent tests of more than 2,500 tank-type toilets listed in a public database. Engineers evaluate toilets using a soybean paste and toilet paper to mimic solid waste. The minimum performance standard is removal of 250 grams of solid waste in a single flush, but many toilets are successfully tested with up to 1,000 grams. The database is searchable by model or a number of features.
3. TerryLove.com
Feb. 14, 2012
Terry Love's Consumer Toilet Reports
by Terry Love
Our AssessmentA plumber in Bellevue, Wash., Love reviews low-flow, water-efficient toilets based on Maximum Performance (MaP) testing, quality control at the factory, ease and cost of repairs, how they sound when flushing, how well the bowl is rinsed and perception of quality. His favorite is the one-piece Toto UltraMax MS854114S with a 1-inch-larger flush valve. This site also sells toilets, so recommendations should be compared to the opinions of more objective sources.
4. KenGriffinPlumbing.com
Not dated
Toilet Recommendations
by Editors of KenGriffinPlumbing.com
Our AssessmentThis site names the best toilets in a number of categories, such as water- and space-saving toilets, best value, strongest flush and best bowl wash. There are no detailed reviews or reasons given for why specific models are selected. However, the site's useful toilet flush comparison chart includes data on gallons per flush, flush valve size and a digital audio recording of the toilet flush for noise comparison.
5. Lowes.com
As of July 2013
Toilets
by Contributors to Lowes.com
Our AssessmentLowes.com sells hundreds of toilets and consumers post feedback on toilets they've purchased or owned. A number of models get at least a dozen reviews, with a few accumulating well over 100. The AquaSource White WaterSense Elongated 2-Piece Comfort Height Toilet is the top-rated toilet with nearly 260 owner comments, while a few other models by Kohler and American Standard maintain high average ratings after 70 or more user reviews.
6. HomeDepot.com
As of July 2013
Toilets
by Contributors to HomeDepot.com
Our AssessmentThe Home Depot sells more than 700 toilets, as well as toilet lids, tanks and other accessories. Users must select a product to see its rating and reviews, which can be time-consuming if you don't already have a specific model in mind. About a dozen toilets from American Standard, Kohler and Glacier Bay get 4 stars out of 5 or better in at least 100 owner reviews.
7. HomeClick.com
As of July 2013
Toilets
by Contributors to HomeClick.com
Our AssessmentHomeClick.com is an online retail site featuring products for the home. It sells more than dozen brands of toilets, the majority by Toto, American Standard and Kohler, and many accumulate more than 100 user reviews. Toto Drake models earn the most positive feedback overall, with owners calling them quiet and easy to install. However, a few complain about leaky valves or occasionally needing to flush twice to clear the bowl.
8. Family Handyman
Not dated
Tips for Buying a Toilet
by Editors of The Family Handyman magazine
Our AssessmentThis detailed guide to selecting a toilet includes features to consider, cost and what type of toilet to look for depending on your needs. While specific toilet models aren't tested or rated, the article includes a few toilets as examples of those offering various features.
9. ToiletsThatWork.com
As of July 2013
Toto Toilets
by Editors of ToiletsThatWork.com
Our AssessmentToiletsThatWork.com is dedicated solely to Toto toilets. More than 40 models are listed, including a product image and detailed specifications in an easy-to-read format. You can sort by MaP score, price, height or depth. Users post comments and rate flush, ease of installation and overall appeal based on a scale of 1 to 10.
10. Bestcovery.com
May 23, 2013
Best Toilet
by Kerri Ryan
Our AssessmentThis home-improvement expert names five low-flow and five standard toilets as the best in their respective categories. She discusses features as well as product specifications such as gallons per flush, ease of installation and water conservation. Each recommended toilet gets an individual review, but it's not clear whether they undergo hands-on testing.
11. 411Plumb.com
Not dated
Toilet Reviews
by Editors of 411Plumb.com
Our AssessmentThis blog is written by a plumber who evaluates toilets based on personal experience and customer feedback. Reviews of about 15 toilets are mixed in with posts on how to select the best toilet bowl cleaner and other relevant information. Write-ups include features, installation, common malfunctions and ease of repair.
12. Amazon.com
As of July 2013
Toilets
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentAmazon.com sells a few models of toilets and most accumulate some owner reviews. Those from American Standard and Toto earn the most positive feedback, but many of the toilets sold here get high average ratings.
13. Amazon.com
As of July 2013
Bidets
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentSeveral bidets accumulate hundreds of user reviews, and most maintain high average ratings of 4 stars out of 5 or better. The top-rated bidets sold here attach to a standard toilet seat. Two bidets made by Luxe, one from Astor and another from Joy Bidet maintain average ratings of 4.5 stars out of 5 or better in more than 400 owner posts each.
14. Lowes.com
As of July 2013
Bidets
by Contributors to Lowes.com
Our AssessmentMost of the bidets sold here are toilet attachments, and many get just one or two reviews. The GoBidet Chrome Toilet-Mounted Bidet 10180, however, earns 5 stars out of 5 in about 20 user posts. Owners say it's easy to attach and helps reduce toilet paper waste.
15. HomeDepot.com
As of July 2013
Bidets
by Contributors to HomeDepot.com
Our AssessmentMost bidets sold here attract just a handful of reviews, but the highest-rated GoBidet Add-On Hot and Cold Water Bidet System 2003.C gets 4.5 stars out of 5 in more than 40 user posts. The bioBidet GoBidet Simplet Bidet System, designed for two-piece toilets, earns positive ratings from more than 25 owners.
16. HomeDepot.com
Not dated
How to Choose a Toilet
by Editors of HomeDepot.com
Our AssessmentWhile consumers can post reviews of toilets sold at HomeDepot.com, the site also provides an informative buyers' guide that lists the features consumers should look for. Flush power, bowl shape, toilet height, water-saving features and other considerations are discussed.
17. Amazon.com
Not dated
Toilet Buying Guide
by Editors of Amazon.com
Our AssessmentLike HomeDepot.com, Amazon.com also has a useful buying guide that discusses different types of toilets, including gravity and pressure models. Various styles are identified and described, including rim heights, bowl shape, and one-piece and two-piece designs.
18. Lowes.com
Not dated
High Performance Toilet Guide
by Editors of Lowes.com
Our AssessmentLowes.com compares nine high-performance toilets in a chart format. Models from American Standard, Crane, Jacuzzi and Kohler aren't ranked or rated, but information includes bowl shape, rim height, toilet kit inclusion, flush valve, toilet colors, SKU numbers, unique flushing system and other features.

Toilets Runners Up:

Gerber Avalanche HE-21-818 Est. $240

3 picks including: Amazon.com, Family Handyman…

Toto Drake CST743S Est. $250

2 picks including: Amazon.com, ToiletsThatWork.com…

Luxe Bidet MB110 Est. $60

1 pick including: Amazon.com…

Kohler Numi Est. $5,000

1 pick including: Amazon.com, Engadget.com…

image
GERBER Avalanche HET 1.28gpf ErgoHeight Elongated HE21818 White
Buy from Amazon.com
from Amazon.com
Average Customer Review:  
image
Toto CST743S 1.6GPF Round Toilet (Less Seat), Cotton
Buy from Amazon.com
from Amazon.com
New: $218.40   
In Stock.
Average Customer Review:  
image
Luxe Bidet MB110 Fresh Water Spray Non-Electric Mechanical Bidet Toilet Seat Attachment
Buy from Amazon.com
from Amazon.com
New: $109.95 $35.95   
In Stock.
Average Customer Review:  
image
KOHLER K-3900-0 Numi Comfort Height One-Piece Elongated Toilet, White
Buy from Amazon.com
from Amazon.com
New: $6,653.30   
Average Customer Review:  
Sponsored Links

Back to top