Sponsored Links
Page: 4 of 4
In this report

Travel Pillows: Ratings of Sources

Total of 29 Sources
1. The Wall Street Journal
Feb. 1, 2013
Desperately Seeking Slumber
by Nancy Keates
Our AssessmentNancy Keates evaluates five travel pillows, giving each a rating for embarrassment factor, ease of packing, how well it helps you sleep, and how difficult it is to set up. The Comfy Commuter earns the best feedback overall, with a low embarrassment factor, easy setup and excellent sleep support. The Kuhi Comfort and Travelrest also earn positive feedback but are slightly more embarrassing to use.
2. IndependentTraveler.com
May 28, 2013
Travel Pillow Challenge: The Quest for Good Airplane Sleep
by Erica Silverstein
Our AssessmentErica Silverstein reviews four travel pillows, describing the features of each as well as her personal experience trying each during a flight. Both the Ezysleep Travel Pillow and the Travelrest earn positive feedback, although neither one perfectly fits the bill. The Kuhi Comfort and Cabeau Evolution just don't do the trick, however.
3. BBC
June 7, 2012
Five Flight-tested Travel Pillows
by Sean O'Neill
Our AssessmentSean O'Neill asks five magazine editors to disclose their favorite travel pillows. Wendy Perrin, the director of consumer news and digital community at Conde Nast Traveler magazine, prefers the Komfort Kollar for its multiple-position support. Others name the Muji Microbead Neck Cushion, Therm-a-Rest Compressible Pillow and Campmor Hedbed as favorites, while Mark P. Orwoll, the international editor of Travel + Leisure magazine, suggests bringing your own standard pillow for flights.
4. InfiniteLegroom.com
April 10, 2013
The Most Outrageous Neck Pillows for Flying
by Lauren K
Our AssessmentThis site is packed with tips and resources for frequent travelers. This particular article takes a look at some of the most innovative and quirky travel pillows, including one shaped like a cat, one with built-in speakers and others with crazy features that travelers may find useful. The picks appear to be selected on features rather than hands-on evaluation. Last on the list is a stuffed snake for children.
5. MyBackpackerGuides.com
Feb. 14, 2013
Travel Pillow Fight: The 3 Best Travel Pillows in the Spotlight
by Alex
Our AssessmentBackpacker and blogger Alex reveals his top three picks for travel pillows, although his leisure activities are more geared towards camping than flying. His top pick is the Exped Air Pillow because it's "superlight, robust and really convenient to inflate (two breaths suffice) as well as compress and pack." The Cocoon Air-Core and Therm-a-Rest Compressible pillows are also recommended.
6. PausetheMoment.com
April 9, 2012
Davidsbeenhere Travel Pillow Review
by Ryan Gargiulo
Our AssessmentRyan Gargiulo recommends the Davidsbeenhere Travel Pillow based on a side-by-side comparison done with two similar travel pillows: a standard travel pillow and a double-comfort travel pillow with added features. Standard travel pillows tend to tilt the head forward, but the Davidsbeenhere Travel Pillow beats the competition thanks to a deflated center portion that provides better head and neck alignment. This post also includes a video comparing the three travel pillows.
7. The StarPhoenix
March 28, 2009
Pillow Fight!
by Reb Stevenson
Our AssessmentFreelance travel journalist Reb Stevenson, whose work appears in several major Canadian newspapers, tests five travel pillows (Eagle Creek Comfort Travel Pillow, Komfort Kollar, Nap Sac, Neckii and Travelrest) on flights. She lists the pros and cons of each, as well as a pithy verdict. She names the Komfort Kollar as her favorite because it "eliminates the dreaded forward head-bob."
8. Prevention Magazine
November 2011
We Test It: Therapeutic Pillows
by Denise Foley and Tanya Beers
Our AssessmentPrevention magazine reviews nine therapeutic pillows, including two travel pillows. Each pillow is tested by three people for two nights, and all receive positive comments. Testers say the Bucky Fuzzy Wuzzy Travel Pillow "allowed [them] to slumber on a plane or in the car without getting a neck cramp." A tester with chronic back pain calls the Foot Levelers Pillo-Pedic Travel Pillow "a miracle" because it helps her avoid the need for her usual pain medication.
9. AllAboutYou.com
Not dated
The Best Neck Pillows for Travelling
by Editors of AllAboutYou.com
Our AssessmentEditors of AllAboutYou.com identify the top 10 travel pillows, each with a standout primary purpose. The Ezysleep, for instance, is ideal for maximum neck support, while the Outwell Massaging Travel Pillow also provides a neck massage while you snooze on flights. It's not clear whether these travel pillows have been used or tested in real-world scenarios, however.
It's a Shame for You Not to Use a Travel Neck Pillow to Help You Sleep While Traveling -- When Other People Do It So Easily
by Pilot Paul
Our AssessmentAn airline pilot offers his personal recommendations for travel accessories. In this article, he describes the pros and cons of four types of travel pillows: inflatable, memory-foam, polyester- and buckwheat-filled. His favorite travel pillows are those made out of memory foam, and he recommends the now-discontinued Memory Foam Komfort Kollar. He also likes the DreamTime Convertible Pillow, which is filled with buckwheat hulls.
11. TheFunTimesGuide.com
Not dated
This Is the Best Travel Pillow… Ever!
by Lynnette Walczak
Our AssessmentLynnette Walczak describes her favorite travel pillow in detail, complete with detailed images of the pillow's inflatable bladder, for customizable firmness, and memory foam outer core for added comfort. She recommends five travel pillows whose features closely match those of the one she owns, including the Therm-a-Rest Compressible Pillow, Minezzz Travel Pillow, Cocoon Air-Core Pillow, Zami Travel Pillow and Travelon Self-Inflating Pillow.
12. MomsMinivan.com
Not dated
Toddler Travel Pillow or Neck Pillow
by Editors of MomsMinivan.com
Our AssessmentThis review recommends travel pillows designed specifically for children in various categories. The Travelrest Seat Belt Snoozer is ideal for older children who don't use car seats anymore, while the Cradler Adjustable Car Seat Pillow is designed for use with a car seat. Other recommendations include Noodlehead Travel Buddies Neck Pillows, Sunshine Seatbelt Pillow and Rest UpRight Travel Pillow.
13. Traveling With Kids Blog
Jan. 23, 2012
Traveling with Kids: 10 Useful Products
by Editors of Traveling With Kids Blog
Our AssessmentThis article identifies 10 must-have items for parents traveling with young children. Reusable containers, a travel mattress and a child's travel pillow are all included on the list. The authors suggest the SkyRest Travel Pillow for Kids for comfort and the Lil' Lewis Explorers Dolphin Neck Pillow for the cuteness factor.
14. BabyCenter.com
March 15, 2012
Road Trip Must-Have: Ben-Bat Travel Pillows
by Molly Balint
Our AssessmentTravel Friends from Ben Bat is recommended for children of all ages at BabyCenter.com. The company makes a line similar products to accommodate the needs of different age groups. Balint praises the soft, comfortable fabrics and cute designs that prevent children's heads from bobbing when sleeping.
15. Amazon.com
As of September 2013
Travel Pillows
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentAmazon.com sells many different travel pillows. The Travelrest receives the most reviews by far. Users give it an average rating of 4.1 stars out of 5, saying it is comfortable and easy to use. Detractors say it's not ideal in all situations. The Cabeau Memory Foam Neck Pillow and Travel Pillow gets a higher average rating of 4.4 stars out of 5, also based on hundreds of user reviews.
16. Brookstone.com
As of September 2013
Travel Pillows
by Contributors to Brookstone.com
Our AssessmentBrookstone.com sells about a dozen travel pillows and a variety of related travel accessories. The Nap Travel U-Pillow is the top-rated travel pillow on this site, earning an average rating of 4.5 stars out of 5 in more than 100 owner-written reviews. The Tempur-Pedic Transit Pillow, Tempur-Pedic All-Purpose Pillow and BioSense Travel Pillow also earn high average ratings of about 4 stars out of 5 in 10 or more reviews.
17. Magellans.com
As of September 2013
Pillows and Blankets
by Contributors to Magellans.com
Our AssessmentTravel retailer Magellans.com sells nearly a dozen neck pillows, most of which have earned at least a handful of reviews. Magellan's Luxe Inflatable Neck Pillow is the top-rated travel pillow, earning an average rating of 4.4 stars out of 5 in nearly 40 owner-written reviews. Owners say it's "surprisingly comfortable" and that this pillow "delivers its promise." A few other travel pillows also earn high average ratings, but among fewer reviews.
18. REI.com
As of September 2013
Liners and Accessories
by Contributors to REI.com
Our AssessmentThis outdoor gear website sells about 20 pillows, most of which are designed for camping but can also be useful for air and car travel. The Therm-a-Rest Compressible Pillow comes in three sizes and can be compressed to fit into a backpack, expanding when unpacked -- they receive the best reviews. The Exped Air Pillow and REI Base Camp Pillow also earn positive feedback in 25 or more owner reviews.
19. SkyMall.com
As of September 2013
Travel Pillows
by Contributors to SkyMall.com
Our AssessmentThe well-known publication found on most airplanes sells more than a dozen variations of travel pillows and related products, a few of which have earned a considerable number of reviews. The SkyRest Travel Pillow maintains an average rating of 4.2 stars out of 5 in about 120 owner-written reviews, while the Releaf Neck Rest earns an average rating of 4.4 stars out of 5 in about 240 owner-written reviews.
20. TripAdvisor.com
As of September 2013
Neck Pillows
by Contributors to TripAdvisor.com
Our AssessmentThis forum thread dates back to 2009, but many of the pillows mentioned here are still available. TripAdvisor.com also has a multitude of other forum threads related to neck pillows and travel pillows that a simple search will bring up. Overall, travelers have mixed opinions on the effectiveness of travel pillows, but a few users recommend the Travelrest Travel Pillow.
21. Backpacker.com
Not dated
Gear Review: Cocoon Travel Pillow - Air-Core Ultralight
by Will Rochfort
Our AssessmentWill Rochfort recommends the Cocoon Air-Core Pillow Ultralight for camping. It weighs just a few ounces and compresses down to about the size of a tennis ball when deflated, making it convenient for backpackers who try to lessen their weight loads as much as possible. As a person who sleeps on his side, Rochfort says the Cocoon travel pillow does a fairly good job in the comfort department.
22. Time magazine
June 12, 2013
This Exists: The Hoodie Neck Pillow
by Olivia B. Waxman
Our AssessmentThis brief article at Time.com takes a humorous approach to reviewing the Travel HoodiePillow, which functions as a standard neck pillow with a conveniently attached hood. Travelers can simply pull up the hood for more privacy. This inflatable pillow is difficult to blow up, however.
23. SmarterTravel.com
July 31, 2012
Product Review: Travelrest Pillow
by Caroline Costello
Our AssessmentCaroline Costello provides an in-depth review of the Travelrest Travel Pillow, rating it for usefulness, portability, value, durability and "cool factor." She gives it high ratings in every category except "cool factor," which she rates at a 2 out of 10 while pointing out that "comfort is rarely cool."
24. About.com
Not dated
TravelRest Travel Pillow Keeps Head Supported During Airline Flights
by Lois Friedland
Our AssessmentLois Friedland, the About.com guide to adventure travel, and a friend test the Travelrest pillow during a long drive and an economy-class international flight. In this detailed review, Friedland says the pillow provides good support for the head and neck and rolls up for easy storage, though she complains that air can leak out while the seal is being closed.
25. About.com
Not dated
The Incredible Anti Drool Inflatable Neck Pillow for Travel
by Kathleen Crislip
Our AssessmentIn this brief review, Kathleen Crislip, former About.com student travel guide, discusses her favorite travel pillow, the Walkabout Travel Gear Inflatable Neck Travel Pillow. She calls it "good, solid and cheap."
26. Chicago Tribune
Jan. 4, 2009
Inflatable Travel Pillow Makes for Comfort and Convenience
by Laurie Goering
Our AssessmentLaurie Goering praises the Travelrest for providing "a delicious sense of snuggling up with one of those full-body bed pillows." She also likes the inflation valve, which "eliminates the usual problems with the valve popping out and deflating the pillow just as you start snoring." One disadvantage, she says, is that changing the pillow from one side of the body to the other means "you've got to wake up and fiddle with the strap."
27. TechCrunch.com
Feb. 9, 2009
Review: TravelRest Pillow
by Peter Ha
Our AssessmentPeter Ha discusses the Travelrest Travel Pillow, which he has been using for a couple of months on long flights. He says, "It's pretty low-tech, but works surprisingly well. The reason I'd take this over a neck pillow is that there's more surface area where your head can rest on."
Head Lice on Pillows, and Strategies to Make a Small Risk Even Less
by Rick Speare, Christine Cahill and Genelle Thomas
Our AssessmentThis older scientific study examines how often lice transfer from a person's head to his or her pillowcase. Out of 48 pillowcases, living lice were found on two, leading the study authors to conclude that the risk of getting lice from a contaminated pillow is low. While this study was conducted in 2003, the findings are still valuable.
29. Overstock.com
Not dated
FAQs About Packing a Travel Pillow
by Amanda Mears
Our AssessmentThis brief article doesn't mention or recommend any specific travel pillows. It does, however, describe the best types of travel pillows for packing and offer tips on packing a travel pillow without taking up too much valuable luggage space.

Travel Pillows Runners Up:

Cocoon Air-Core Pillow Ultralight Est. $20

3 picks including: Amazon.com, Backpacker.com…

SkyRest Travel Pillow Est. $30

2 picks including: Amazon.com, InfiniteLegroom.com…

Exped Air Pillow Est. $25 to $35, depending on size

2 picks including: Amazon.com, REI.com…

Ezysleep Inflatable Travel Pillow Est. $30

2 picks including: Inc. magazine, AllAboutYou.com…

image
Air Core Pillow
Buy from Amazon.com
from Amazon.com
New: $24.95   
Average Customer Review:  
image
Skyrest Travel Pillow
Buy from Amazon.com
from Amazon.com
New: $42.26 $29.95   
In Stock.
Average Customer Review:  
Sponsored Links

Back to top