Sponsored Links
Page: 4 of 4
In this report

TV Antennas: Ratings of Sources

Total of 15 Sources
1. TVFool.com
Not Dated
Check Your Address for Free TV
by Editors of TVFool.com
Our AssessmentAlthough TVFool.com doesn't pick a single best television antenna, it's an important first stop for antenna shoppers. Once you enter your street address, the site uses information about TV signal strength and local geography to provide an analysis of which TV signals can be received in your area. You'll also learn how powerful an indoor or outdoor antenna you need to receive them.
2. AntennaWeb.org
Not Dated
Maximize Your Television Reception
by Editors of AntennaWeb.org
Our AssessmentAntennaWeb.org is similar to TVFool.com, but with an emphasis on outdoor antennas. Based on your home address, the nature of your surrounding area -- trees, hills and more -- and your type of house, you can find out what digital TV signals can be received and how powerful an antenna you need to receive them. While only outdoor antennas are addressed, you can use the results to determine if an indoor antenna will work in your location.
3. HDTVExpert.com
March 25, 2013
Indoor DTV Reception
by Pete Putman
Our AssessmentAmong reviewers, no one currently does a more thorough job testing indoor TV antennas than HDTVExpert.com's Pete Putman. He revisits the topic often and pits similar antennas against one another in test bench and in-use face-offs under typical conditions. Antennas aren't rated or ranked, but top performers are singled out.
4. TomsGuide.com
Oct. 1, 2013
Get an HDTV Antenna for Free TV
by Mike Kobrin
Our AssessmentThis article details some of the considerations in using an antenna to get free over-the-air programming and tests three indoor antennas at the same New Orleans location. All perform similarly, but the Mohu Leaf Ultimate gets the nod for its simple mounting and unobtrusive design.
5. AVSForum.com
As of November 2013
EV's Indoor Antenna Round-Up
by Contributors to AVSForum.com
Our AssessmentThis lengthy thread at AVSForum.com includes a guide to the best indoor antennas for receiving digital TV signals. Best and worst antennas are named, and lots of helpful information is provided, although some models have been discontinued. The original post doesn't seem to have been recently updated, but contributors continue to chip in with specific recommendations in response to posted questions. The emphasis is on UHF antennas, and navigation can be tedious -- the thread is more than 100 pages long -- but the time investment is worthwhile.
6. TechHive.com
Dec. 19, 2011
Kiss Your Cable Bill Goodbye with These HDTV Antennas
by Edward N. Albro
Our AssessmentIn an article that originally ran in sister publication PC World, Albro tests five indoor antennas to see which ones deliver the goods. Performance and aesthetics are addressed. Two antennas -- the Terk HDTVa and the Mohu Leaf -- are named the top choices for best performance and best appearance/good performance, respectively.
7. HomeTheaterReview.com
As of November 2013
Satellite Receiver, Cable Box and HD DVR Reviews
by Adrienne Maxwell
Our AssessmentLong-time reviewer Adrienne Maxwell covers a pair of indoor TV antennas in this catchall category at HomeTheaterReview.com. Testing is hands-on and well documented. In the end, both perform well at her location and get good overall ratings.
8. TVConversionHelp.com
Not Dated
Indoor DTV Antenna Reviews
by Editors of TVConversionHelp.com
Our AssessmentHere three popular antennas get brief reviews, including pros, cons and a bottom-line opinion, but not much else. Editors say positive things about all of the antennas covered, but give a small edge to the Winegard SS-3000 for its better VHF performance. This article doesn't appear to have been updated recently, and one of the antennas tested has been discontinued.
9. HDTVAntennaLabs.com
As of November 2013
Indoor TV Antennas for Over-the-Air HDTV Broadcasts
by Editors of and contributors to HDTV Antenna Labs
Our AssessmentAt this site, users can report on and rate digital TV antennas that they own. Most get just a handful of reviews, but others draw hundreds and some more than a thousand. The editors name top choices based on rating as well as the number of reviews each has received.
10. DigitalTrends.com
Jan. 27, 2013
Banish the Bunny Ears (and Monthly Bills) with These Potent Indoor Antennas
by Mike Flacy
Our AssessmentThe pros and cons of four popular indoor TV antennas are discussed in this article. No absolute best choice is named, but Flacy does conduct hands-on testing and describes which antenna might be a better choice for different users under different circumstances. Elsewhere on the site, Caleb Denison provides an in-depth testing-based review of the Mohu Leaf Ultimate. It earns an Editors' Choice award based on performance and aesthetics.
11. Amazon.com
As of November 2013
Antennas
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentYou can find user reviews for lots of digital TV antennas at Amazon.com. Some attract only a handful of comments while others get hundreds. Because receiving locations and owner expectations vary greatly, no one digital TV antenna pleases everyone. However, you can easily see which ones are most likely to work well and which should probably be avoided.
12. RadioShack.com
As of November 2012
Antennas
by Contributors to RadioShack.com
Our AssessmentRadioShack.com lists a good selection of indoor and outdoor antennas. Outdoor types draw fewer reviews in general, but higher satisfaction, although a few indoor choices are clear standouts.
13. BestBuy.com
As of November 2013
TV Antennas
by Contributors to BestBuy.com
Our AssessmentBestBuy.com is another site with a good selection of user reviews of indoor antennas. Most get mixed feedback, at best, but a couple of standouts with good ratings and lots of reviews emerge.
14. The Solid Signal Blog
As of November 2013
TV Antennas
by "SS@SolidSignal" and contributors to The Solid Signal Blog
Our AssessmentSolid Signal, an antenna retailer, offers this blog with lots of good information regarding TV antennas, including some hands-on tests and head-to-head comparisons. While quite a bit of attention is paid to a house-brand flat antenna, write-ups appear to be unbiased.
15. ConsumerReports.org
July 29, 2013
Indoor HDTV Antennas Get a Warm -- but Hopefully not Fuzzy -- Reception
by James Willcox
Our AssessmentIn this article, which is free to non-subscribers, James Willcox details the results of tests done by ConsumerReports.org staffers in various locations around New York City. Antennas ranging from simple rabbit ears to high-end amplified models are included. Results are discussed, but antennas are not rated or ranked.

TV Antennas Runners Up:

Winegard SS-3000 Discontinued

4 picks including: Amazon.com, AVSForum.com…

Winegard FlatWave FL-5000 Est. $40

3 picks including: Amazon.com, CNET…

Mohu Leaf Ultimate Est. $70

3 picks by top review sites.

RCA ANT 111 Est. $9

2 picks by top review sites.

image
Winegard Company FL-5000 FlatWave HDTV Indoor Digital Flat Antenna - Made in USA
Buy from Amazon.com
from Amazon.com
New: $49.99   
In Stock.
Average Customer Review:  
image
Mohu Leaf 50 Indoor HDTV Antenna
Buy from Amazon.com
from Amazon.com
New: $89.99 $65.41   
Average Customer Review:  
Sponsored Links

Back to top