Sponsored Links
Page: 4 of 4
In this report

See Also

Two-Way Radios: Ratings of Sources

Total of 12 Sources
1. Camping Life Magazine
Dec. 14, 2011
FRS/GMRS Two-Way Radio Shootout
by Lisa Densmore
Our AssessmentIn this detailed test, teens and pre-teens use four two-way radios in a variety of landscapes, including mountains, forests, and rolling hills and valleys. They use the walkie-talkies while skiing, hiking, and bushwhacking; in and out of cars; and at varying controlled distances. The testers also evaluate each model for comfort, ease of use and portability. Lisa Densmore gives each model a balanced but overall positive assessment.
2. BHPhotoVideo.com
Not Dated
2-Way Radios
by Contributors to BHPhotoVideo.com
Our AssessmentAlthough this online retailer deals mainly in photo and video equipment, we also found many walkie-talkies for sale here. Because you can sort the full list by both rating and number of reviews, we easily identified two models with strong overall ratings from 50 users or more. Individual reviews can be sorted by date, rating and helpfulness, and the site sums up the most commonly cited pros and cons for each model.
3. Amazon.com
As of April 2014
Two-Way Radios
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentAmazon.com sells thousands of walkie-talkie models, and a few of them have received hundreds of reviews from users. Some of the top-rated models here are actually ham radios rather than FRS or GMRS radios, however, so you have to read descriptions carefully. As with all user-review sites, the reports at Amazon.com vary greatly in quality, but they provide a good overview of user opinion.
4. Walmart.com
As of April 2014
2-Way Radios
by Contributors to Walmart.com
Our AssessmentWalmart.com offers lots of two-way radios from 15 different brands. Most of these walkie-talkies have few or no reviews, but a few draw substantial feedback. User reviews are brief but contain quite a bit of pertinent information, such as how long the customer has had the radio and how often it's used. There are also separate ratings for value and how well the product meets expectations.
5. Field & Stream
Nov. 6, 2009
2-Way Radios Gear Reviews
by Dan Saelinger
Our AssessmentThe four two-way radios reviewed here appear to have been the top picks in a comparison test from 2009. However, the report itself is no longer available on the site, so there's no information about the methods involved or which competitors didn't make the cut. All we have is Dan Saelinger's rating and a one-paragraph "lowdown" on each model, with notes of high points and low points. Two of the four winners are now discontinued.
6. Cabelas.com
As of April 2014
Two-Way Radios
by Contributors to Cabelas.com
Our AssessmentThis popular outdoor retailer offers a selection of two-way radio models for sale, and most have received at least one or two reviews. The top-rated walkie-talkies here are all Garmin models that include a GPS navigation feature. Individual reviews are short -- just a few sentences each plus an overall rating.
7. GanderMountain.com
As of April 2014
Two-Way Radios
by Contributors to GanderMountain.com
Our AssessmentGanderMountain.com sells a small selection of two-way radios. While most get just one or two reviews, a couple of models have more than a dozen reviews, which vary in credibility and length. The site also provides a handy summary of the most commonly cited pros and cons for each walkie-talkie.
8. WildSnow.com
Sept. 8, 2012
2-Way Radios Review -- FRS, Talkabout, Ham, More for Backcountry Skiing
by Lou Dawson
Our AssessmentBlogger Lou Dawson is an experienced backcountry skier and ski mountaineer who claims to have tested dozens of two-way radios over an unspecified number of years. In this detailed post, he discusses the pros and cons of walkie-talkies and recommends a few models that he says are good performers, though he doesn't describe his actual testing methods. He also mentions a few key points to look for when shopping for a two-way radio.
9. TwoWayRadiosForum.com
As of April 2014
Product Reviews
by Contributors to TwoWayRadioForum.com
Our AssessmentThis user forum features discussion and sometimes long user reviews of two-way radios and accessories. While there's some recent information, this forum does not seem to get a ton of activity of late, and many of the reviews and discussions have grown stale.
10. BassPro.com
As of April 2014
Two-Way Radios
by Contributors to BassPro.com
Our AssessmentBassPro.com, the website for Bass Pro Shops, sells about a dozen models of two-way radios, but most of them have no more than a handful of owner-written reviews. We did not find any models with a significant amount of positive user feedback. However, the reviews here are helpful for providing additional feedback about the top-rated walkie-talkies on other sites -- especially about their weaknesses.
11. NewEgg.com
As of April 2014
Two-Way Radios
by Contributors to Newegg.com
Our AssessmentNewegg.com lists more than a thousand two-way radios for sale, but most of them have few or no user reviews. Fortunately, the site lets you sort the list by number of reviews, so it's easy to find the few that have enough feedback to at least give a glimpse of how they perform. None of these have particularly strong overall ratings, however.
12. REI.com
As of April 2014
Two-Way Radios
by Contributors to REI.com
Our AssessmentREI.com sells a few walkie-talkies and quite a few accessories. However, most of the radios sold here have few or no reviews, and we did not find any with strong overall ratings from 10 users or more. However, the reviews here provide some useful additional feedback on popular models.
Sponsored Links

Back to top