Sponsored Links
Page: 3 of 3
In this report

Digital Cameras (Ultra-Zoom): Ratings of Sources

Total of 12 Sources
1. Imaging-Resource.com
As of September 2013
Dave's Picks: Long Zoom
by Editors of Imaging-Resource.com
Our AssessmentImaging-Resource.com tests cameras in extraordinary detail. In lab tests, each camera photographs the same subjects under standardized conditions. Experts here also field-test each camera, shooting in a variety of conditions and posting lots of sample shots. This page lists the editors' top long-zoom picks.
2. Amateur Photographer
As of September 2013
Compacts
by Editors of Amateur Photographer
Our AssessmentThis British website also publishes extremely thorough, up-to-date camera tests. Editors judge each camera's build quality and handling as well as all aspects of performance, testing both in the lab and in the field.
3. DPReview.com
As of September 2013
Reviews/Previews
by Editors of DPReview.com
Our AssessmentDPReview.com ties with Imaging-Resource.com for the most thorough camera reviews you'll find online. The multipart camera reviews go into exhaustive detail, complete with sample photos. Each camera receives an overall rating, with awards for the best cameras. However, this site hasn't tested many ultra-zooms lately. The Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ200 is the only ultra-zoom camera that earns the site's Gold Award.
4. What Digital Camera
As of September 2013
Camera Equipment Reviews
by Editors of WhatDigitalCamera.com
Our AssessmentTesters here don't do extensive lab tests like the top sites, but they do test lots of the latest ultra-zoom cameras in a variety of shooting situations, with plenty of test photos and videos. Editors clearly outline each camera's pros and cons and compare it with rivals. Cameras get an overall rating from 1 to 100, so you can easily find the best.
5. PhotographyBlog.com
As of September 2013
Camera Reviews
by Editors of PhotographyBlog.com
Our AssessmentThis British site reviews a lot of digital cameras, most of which are available in the U.S. Editors test each camera and rate its design, features, ease of use, image quality and value. Each camera gets a star rating, but unfortunately the site's Recommended list is out of date. You have to plow through the individual reviews to find the best cameras.
6. PCMag.com
As of September 2013
Digital Cameras: Superzoom
by Editors of PCMag.com
Our AssessmentPCMag.com tests digital cameras both with lab software and real-world scenarios. Editors rate each camera on a 5-point scale and pick Editors' Choice models. Written reviews are relatively short and easy to digest, which is good if you need a quick overview instead of a lengthy analysis. The pocket-sized Canon PowerShot SX280 HS is the latest super-zoom to earn an Editors' Choice award.
7. CNET
Sept. 25, 2013
Best Digital Cameras
by Lori Grunin
Our AssessmentCNET regularly reviews all types of digital cameras. Cameras are evaluated on design, image quality, performance and features, but write-ups are not as detailed as those on photography sites. The Canon PowerShot SX280 HS is the only ultra-zoom on CNET's list of the top digital cameras.
8. ePhotoZine
As of September 2013
Compact Cameras Photography Equipment Reviews
by Editors of EPhotoZine.com
Our AssessmentCamera reviews at this British site are very up-to-date, although not as extensive as at the best sites. They're still thorough, however, with sample photos from outdoors, in the studio and in the lab, as well as video samples. A clear Verdict section summarizes each camera's pros and cons and adds a star rating. Three ultra-zooms have recently earned EPhotoZine.com's 4.5-star Highly Recommended tag.
9. ConsumerReports.org
Not Dated
Point and Shoot Digital Camera Ratings and Reliability
by Editors of ConsumerReports.org
Our AssessmentConsumerReports.org covers most -- but not all -- of the factors shoppers should consider when buying a digital camera. Editors test 47 super-zoom cameras and rank them from best to worst, with individual ratings for image quality, flash photos, video quality, ease of use and LCD screen quality. The review is geared toward general audiences, and the testing methodology is thorough. However, the individual camera write-ups are brief, and several of the recommended cameras are older models.
10. Choice magazine
Aug. 20, 2013
Basic Digital Camera Reviews
by Chris Ruggles
Our AssessmentWhile not as comprehensive as sites geared toward photo aficionados, Australian-based Choice magazine (similar to ConsumerReports.org in the U.S.) publishes unbiased ratings of 78 digital cameras, using up-to-date tests. Test methodology and rating criteria are clearly spelled out. Editors recommend the 14 best cameras, including eight ultra-zooms.
11. Amazon.com
As of September 2013
Digital Cameras
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentWhile the quality of user reviews varies, the most popular cameras often garner enough reviews and high ratings to make visiting this site worthwhile, especially to see how a camera holds up with long-term use. Two current ultra-zooms maintain 4.5-star ratings (out of 5) with more than 100 owner reviews posted: the Canon PowerShot SX50 HS and Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ200.
12. BHPhotoVideo.com
As of September 2013
Point and Shoot Cameras
by Contributors to BHPhotoVideo.com
Our AssessmentThis website, the online home of a large brick-and-mortar camera store, is one of the best places to read owner reviews. Many cameras attract dozens of customer reviews, although not as many as on Amazon.com. Each reviewer rates his or her level of photography knowledge, which is helpful.
Sponsored Links

Back to top