Sponsored Links
Page: 5 of 5
In this report

Vacuum Food Sealers: Ratings of Sources

Total of 19 Sources
1. Cook's Illustrated Magazine
Aug. 1, 2009
Vacuum Sealers
by Editors of Cook's Illustrated magazine
Our AssessmentEditors of Cook's Illustrated magazine test eight vacuum sealers -- two handheld models and six free-standing sealers -- by sealing ground coffee, fresh strawberries, raw steak, chicken breasts and a fully cooked Thanksgiving dinner. Each package was then frozen and evaluated after two weeks, one month and two months for signs of failed seals and freezer burn. In addition, editors discuss ease of use and seal quality. One expensive model is highly recommended, but editors recommend two more affordable models as well.
2. Amazon.com
As of August 2013
Vacuum Sealers
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentBecause so many of the professional reviews editors found for vacuum sealers are older, user reviews posted to Amazon.com become very important for assessing long-term performance and durability. Amazon.com lists quite a few models, many with more than 100 reviews, making this the best place to find recent feedback on available vacuum sealers. Several sealers receive excellent reviews, averaging over 4.5 stars.
3. TheSweetHome.com
Jan. 14, 2013
The Best Budget-Friendly Sous-Vide Gear
by Tim Barribeau
Our AssessmentTim Barribeau breaks down what those trying to get into sous vide cooking need to buy, and when it comes to vacuum sealers, his pick is the FoodSaver V2244 for those looking to use a vacuum sealer for their cooking. He mentions that other, cheaper alternatives work for the time it takes for sous vide, but for a more permanent seal, the FoodSaver's seal lasts. He also names the DSV Temperature Controller as a good pick for sous vide cooking.
4. QVC.com
As of August 2013
Vacuum Sealers
by Contributors to QVC.com
Our AssessmentQVC, known for its shopping-from-home convenience, offers a wide array of home vacuum sealers, with customers not only reviewing the FoodSaver FreshSaver the most often -- over 700 times -- but also giving it a stellar 4.4 out of 5 stars to mark the best-reviewed product on the site.
5. FoodSaver.com
As of August 2013
Vacuum Sealers
by Contributors to FoodSaver.com
Our AssessmentThe editors at FoodSaver.com keep both positive and negative reviews posted on their website, showing not only that they have confidence in their product line, but also that they are committed to being upfront with consumers. Despite negative reviews being allowed, most products with a large number of reviews have very high marks.
6. About.com
Not Dated
SousVide Supreme Home Sous Vide Machine
by Jessica Harlan
Our AssessmentJessica Harlan has SousVide Supreme send her a machine and tests the device's ability to cook both a flank steak and eggs, reviewing how well the device performed as well as judging the ease of setup, cleanup and the overall value of the product.
7. Gizmodo.com
Feb. 1, 2010
SousVide Supreme Review: How to Cook From the Inside Out
by Wilson Rothman
Our AssessmentGizmodo.com talks about the technology of sous vide cooking coming to the home kitchen and why someone might want to invest in a sous vide cooker, and he recommends the SousVide Supreme for those willing to make the investment for better food.
8. PopSci.com
Jan. 25, 2010
Sous Vide Supreme Review: The Tenderest Meats, From the Science Lab to Your Home Kitchen
by John Mahoney
Our AssessmentPopular Science talks about what makes sous vide cooking preferable to other methods of cooking steak, highlighting its foolproof method for not overcooking meat and recommending the SousVide Supreme for sous vide cooks at home.
9. Cook's Illustrated Magazine
Nov. 1, 2010
Sous Vide Machine
by Editors of Cook's Illustrated magazine
Our AssessmentCook's Illustrated reviews the SousVide Supreme for being able to bring the sous vide cooking method to home cooks everywhere, noting how well it cooks meat and what other tools are necessary to start sous vide cooking.
10. VacuumFoodStorage.org
Not Dated
FoodSaver Basics
by Editors of VacuumFoodStorage.org
Our AssessmentVacuumFoodStorage.org is a website dedicated to reviewing vacuum sealers and all things associated with the products. They do not list any testing methods, but do take into account what users are saying when reviewing a product and recommending what type of vacuum sealer is right for a customer based on that customer's needs.
11. Williams-Sonoma.com
As of August 2013
Caso Hand-Held Vacuum Sealer
by Contributors to Williams-Sonoma.com
Our AssessmentCustomers of Williams-Sonoma, known as a luxury cooking retailer, give reviews to vacuum sealing products from brands such as Caso and Ary, marking the Caso My Vac 200 as their favorite handheld vacuum because of its convenience and maneuverability.
12. SeriousEats.com
Dec. 28, 2009
The $449 SousVide Supreme: Worth It?
by J. Kenji Lopez-Alt
Our AssessmentLopez-Alt puts the SousVide Supreme through a battery of tests to determine whether the machine is worth the hefty price tag just to cook sous vide food. He tests various foods over the course of several months and gives the SousVide Supreme a thumbs-up, although noting some drawbacks -- no included vacuum sealer and no way to brown or crisp food.
13. ChimpanzeeTeaParty.com
Jan. 16, 2013
DIY Sous Vide and the Dorkfood DSV Controller
by Jason Hamner
Our AssessmentInstead of going out and paying for an expensive SousVide Supreme, Hamner tests the more economical DSV Temperature Controller that works with a nondigital slow cooker to deliver sous vide quality results, finding that it cooked the food to perfection.
14. CNET
June 19, 2012
Turn Your Slow Cooker or Rice Maker into a Sous-vide Machine
by Brian Krepshaw
Our AssessmentBrian Krepshaw reviews the DorkFood DSV Temperature Controller, discussing how the device works as an alternative to a sous vide machine, but he doesn't go into details of how effective the product is, listing the lower cost as its primary advantage over a more expensive sous vide machine.
15. FoodSealer.net
As of August 2013
Food Sealer Review
by Allan Lederman
Our AssessmentAllan Lederman reviews various makes and models of vacuum sealers, but all of the reviews tend to highlight more positives than negatives about various brands. Each review includes a link for where to buy a particular food sealer and what the top features of the model are, but the site does not offer a scoring system or any way to determine the top food sealers on the market.
16. QualityMatters.com
As of August 2013
Weston Pro-2300 Stainless Steel Commercial Grade Vacuum Sealer # 65-0201
by Contributors to QualityMatters.com
Our AssessmentContributors to QualityMatters.com review the Weston Pro-2300 as far back as early 2010, giving it the top marks among products on the site and raving about its durability as well as its performance.
17. ChefsCatalog.com
As of August 2013
Vacuum Sealers
by Contributors to ChefsCatalog.com
Our AssessmentContributors to ChefsCatalog.com provide reviews and feedback on their favorite vacuum sealing products offered on the site, giving top marks to the Weston Pro-2300 among the three vacuum sealers available on the website.
18. CNET
May 9, 2012
With Space, Vacuum Sealer Makes Some Noise
by Brian Krepshaw
Our AssessmentBrian Krepshaw reviews the Caso My Vac 200, talking about how compact and convenient the model is for those looking to vacuum seal at home. However, he does not test the model and steers away from comments on the product's effectiveness.
19. The Bon Vivant Blog
Jan. 7, 2013
First Sous Vide Attempt
by Author of The Bon Vivant Blog
Our AssessmentThe Bon Vivant Blog posts about a particular instance using the DSV Temperature Controller to achieve sous vide cooking results, noting that the experience was overall positive and that the food turned out well. It doesn't go into depth about trying other meals or any potential drawbacks of the machine.
Sponsored Links

Back to top