Sponsored Links
Page: 5 of 5
In this report

Video Cards: Ratings of Sources

Total of 20 Sources
1. TomsHardware.com
As of April 2012
Graphics Cards: Articles & Reviews
by Editors of TomsHardware.com
Our AssessmentEven in a category full of strong reviews, TomsHardware.com stands out. The site not only covers new stock graphics cards in exhaustive, multipage reviews full of analysis, benchmarking and direct comparisons to other cards but it also conducts frequent roundups by card type. A useful monthly feature details the "best graphics cards for the money" in a variety of price ranges.
2. XBitLabs.com
As of April 2012
Graphics
by Editors of XBitLabs.com
Our AssessmentUnlike TomsHardware.com, which covers only stock Nvidia and AMD Radeon HD video cards, XBitLabs.com primarily reviews specific versions from different manufacturers. Since manufacturers release new cards throughout the year, XBitLabs.com ends up covering many more graphics cards than most of its competitors. Even with this frequency, coverage is high-quality: XBitLabs.com's reviews are long and full of benchmark tests that compare a card against its competitors. The best are singled out for awards.
3. LegitReviews.com
As of April 2012
Video Card
by Editors of LegitReviews.com
Our AssessmentLegitReviews.com covers video cards similarly to XBitLabs.com: It examines individual models as opposed to stock reference cards, and conducts extensive benchmarking tests that include thorough evaluation of heat/thermal and power consumption levels. Editors also compare the benchmarks against those achieved by other graphics cards. The best earn Editors' Choice awards.
4. Bit-tech.net
As of April 2012
Graphics
by Editors of Bit-Tech.net
Our AssessmentBit-Tech.net's reports are lengthy, although not quite as exhaustive as some of the other top video card reviewers. However, the site's critiques shine in providing extra details that other reviewers miss. Editors compare tested cards against many more cards than most other experts do, and provide helpful numerical ratings in Overall, Performance, Features and Values categories. Bit-Tech.net also covers both reference and individual manufacturer video cards, something few other sources can claim. Top picks earn various awards, culminating in the Bit-Tech.net Extreme Ultra award, which only the AMD Radeon HD 7970 holds.
5. TechPowerUp.com
As of April 2012
Video Card Reviews
by Editors of TechPowerUp.com
Our AssessmentTechPowerUp.com covers more manufacturer video cards than other reviewers, and its testing-based reviews are exhaustive to the extreme; most contain about 30 pages of content. A helpful conclusion page lists pros and cons and includes a final score -- something missing in many graphics card reviews. The best-rated cards earn Editors' Choice and Recommended awards.
6. Hexus.net
As of April 2012
Graphics Reviews
by Editors of Hexus.net
Our AssessmentHexus.net is a British website, but most of the video cards it covers can also be found stateside. Reviews are often lengthy and exhaustive, covering thermal, noise and power levels as well as straightforward gaming frame rates. The site's Bang4buck and Bang4watt ratings deliver great price-to-performance ratio information, methodology is clearly outlined, and overall scores leave no doubt where products lie. Site awards separate the best from the rest.
7. TweakTown.com
As of April 2012
Video Cards
by Editors of TweakTown.com
Our AssessmentTweakTown.com also benchmarks both reference and manufacturer video cards using exhaustive testing methods, but it's most notable for the way it benchmarks cards repeatedly under different circumstances. For example, many sources review the AMD Radeon HD 7970, but TweakTown.com also evaluates it in overclocked and multicard CrossFire setups.
8. Guru3D.com
As of April 2012
Videocards
by Hilbert Hagedoorn
Our AssessmentGuru3D.com -- also known as The Guru of 3D -- sometimes covers stock reference cards, but most of its editorial coverage includes reviews of specific manufacturer models. The evaluations sometimes span more than 20 pages and are based on thorough benchmarks testing. Site owner Hilbert Hagedoorn brings a unique perspective, but comparisons to other cards are few and far between.
9. HardwareHeaven.com
As of April 2012
Graphics Cards Reviews
by Editors of HardwareHeaven.com
Our AssessmentHardwareHeaven.com was formerly DriverHeaven.net, but no matter what you call it, the site's reviews are impressively detailed. Editors also provide helpful numerical ratings and several awards dependent on various criteria, including auxiliary awards such as Value and Performance. On the negative side, navigating the multipage reviews isn't as easy as on other sites due to the lack of in-review page navigation options.
10. Anandtech.com
As of April 2012
GPUs
by Editors of AnandTech.com
Our AssessmentAnandTech.com's detailed, comparative and opinion-filled video card reviews are well regarded for their expertise. The thorough benchmarking and deep discussion are big pluses, but there's no rating or award system, and most reviews occur only during the launch window for new reference (stock) graphics cards from Nvidia and AMD. Slogging through page after page of graphics card news to locate the scattered reviews is also a nuisance.
11. HardOCP.com
As of April 2012
GPU/Video Cards Reviews
by Editors of HardOCP.com
Our AssessmentLike most other sources listed here, HardOCP.com tests a lot of video cards, and it does so using a wide variety of benchmarks and a clearly defined methodology. However, this is one of the few sites that evaluates several manufacturer models of the same stock video card; for example, HardOCP.com examines the reference AMD Radeon HD 7950 along with 7950 cards from Sapphire and XFX. Such comparisons are very useful when deciding between graphics cards that come from different makers but are based on the same core technology.
12. HotHardware.com
As of April 2012
Graphics/Sound
by Editors of HotHardware.com
Our AssessmentHotHardware.com offers testing- and benchmark-based reviews similar to those found at other top sources, but it doesn't evaluate PC video cards quite as often. The reviews are made more helpful by comparisons to other graphics cards, but finding them requires sifting through reviews of other graphics and sound products. Top-performing cards earn a Recommended award, while those that are notably a step above earn Editors' Choice recognition.
13. HardwareSecrets.com
As of April 2012
Video
by Gabriel Torres
Our AssessmentHardwareSecrets.com's video card reviews are multipage affairs full of benchmark testing, but they fall short when compared to other sources. Although the number of reviews is impressive coming from a single critic, they're limited compared to sites with larger editorial staffs. In addition, there's no discussion or benchmarking of thermal or power consumption levels.
14. MaximumPC.com
As of April 2012
Videocards Reviews
by Loyd Case
Our AssessmentMaximum PC is a go-to print publication for enthusiast PC hardware reviews, but its depth is limited compared to online sources that can dedicate page after virtual page to a single review. On the plus side, the magazine conducts well-rounded benchmark testing and compares the results against other manufacturer video cards, and it frequently posts reviews online a few months after the print edition hits the streets.
15. Computer Shopper
As of April 2012
Graphics Card Reviews, Ratings, and Pricing
by Editors of ComputerShopper.com
Our AssessmentComputerShopper.com's reviews are in-depth, and feature plenty of benchmarks and comparison to other cards. However, enthusiast websites offer more detailed reviews and, at least up to the time of this report, ComputerShopper.com seems to have largely ignored the current generation of Nvidia video cards.
16. TechSpot.com
As of April 2012
Graphics & Video
by Editors of TechSpot.com
Our AssessmentTechSpot.com offers detailed reviews and insightful discussion about the graphics cards it covers, but coverage is inconsistent. A small number of video card reviews fail to provide in-game frame rate results, for instance, and sometimes a lot of time passes between reviews. Most reviews are very solid, however, and TechSpot.com's roundup of 13 sub-$200 video cards is very useful for PC builders on a budget.
17. Expert Reviews (U.K.)
As of April 2012
Graphics Card Reviews
by Editors of ExpertReviews.co.uk
Our AssessmentExpertReviews.co.uk's coverage of video cards is less exhaustive than most. The brief reviews are based on in-game frame rate benchmarking, but only a limited number of video cards have been covered. For the most part, the current generation of Nvidia graphics cards have yet to be reviewed, although AMD Radeon HD video cards are well represented.
18. TechRadar.com
As of April 2012
Graphics Cards Rated
by Editors of TechRadar.com
Our AssessmentTechRadar.com's coverage of video cards is wide-ranging but lacks depth. The numerical ratings and no-nonsense analysis make it clear whether individual manufacturer cards are recommended, but benchmarks are presented simply as straight numbers and results aren't discussed. Editors also present some limited comparison scores.
19. About.com
March 5, 2011
Top 15 Video Cards for Computer Gaming
by Dave Spohn
Our AssessmentAbout.com's list of the 15 best video cards was created before the current generation of AMD Radeon HD video cards launched, so the comparison is starting to show its age. In addition, only stock reference cards are listed, write-ups are very brief and don't detail the testing process, and hard benchmark numbers are absent. However, Dave Spohn offers decent insight on each card's strengths and price-to-performance ratio. (Note: ConsumerSearch is owned by About.com, but the two don't share an editorial affiliation.)
20. NewEgg.com
As of April 2012
Video Cards & Video Devices
by Contributors to Newegg.com
Our AssessmentNewegg.com provides more video card user reviews than any other website we spotted. Many of the cards sold here receive dozens or even hundreds of critiques after being available for a couple of months, and tech-savvy Newegg.com buyers often leave detailed feedback about what they like -- and don't like -- about specific video cards.
Sponsored Links

Back to top