Sponsored Links
Page: 3 of 3

VoIP: Ratings of Sources

Total of 18 Sources
1. ConsumerReports.org
May 2011
Phone Service Ratings
by Editors of ConsumerReports.org
Our AssessmentBased on a survey of over 34,000 reader experiences with telecommunications services, this review compares VoIP, landline and fiber optic service providers. The top three phone service providers are all VoIP companies. This report is available only through subscription.
2. PCMag.com
As of July 2013
Internet Telephony & VoIP
by Editors of PCMag.com
Our AssessmentYou'll find all of PCMag.com's VoIP reviews here, though there are not many reviews from the past two years. This site still shows reviews from previous years that have been supplemented by more recent reports that are not quite as favorable. Each product is thoroughly tested and rated on a scale of 1 to 5, and the best are named an Editors' Choice. The latest Internet telephony products to receive this award are netTALK Duo, 8x8 Virtual Office Pro and Google Voice.
3. PCMag.com
Sept. 7, 2010
Readers' Choice Awards 2010: VoIP
by Ben Gottesman
Our AssessmentIn a 2010 survey of nearly 20,000 PCMag.com readers, Cablevision's Optimum Voice wins the Readers' Choice award for best VoIP service. Verizon VoIP gets an honorable mention, with lower ratings for customer support. The survey also rates Charter, Comcast, AT&T, Road Runner, Ooma, Vonage, magicJack and Skype services in eight subcategories (such as sound quality and technical support) and overall. The readers' choice awards for 2011 and 2012 do not include a VoIP service provider category.
4. CNET
Sept. 14, 2010
Prizefight: Google Voice vs. Skype
by Editors of CNET
Our AssessmentCNET throws Skype into the ring with Google's new Voice Calls from Gmail feature. Three expert testers score each contender on features, apps and interface, device compatibility and cost. Google wins every category, and the prizefight -- for U.S. users. Skype is still the better international option.
5. J.D. Power and Associates
Sept. 20, 2012
2012 Telephone Service Provider Ratings
by Editors of J.D. Power and Associates
Our AssessmentJ.D. Power and Associates polls consumers about their local and long-distance telephone service. Unfortunately, this survey mixes VoIP with traditional long-distance services, which limits its usefulness. This 2012 research study is based on over 1,800 customer responses. A winner is named for four regions of the U.S. -- East, West, South and North Central. However, not all companies are included, and national VoIP companies such as Vonage and Lingo are not included in the survey at all.
6. TopTenReviews.com
Not Dated
2013 Best VoIP Service Reviews and Comparisons
by Editors of TopTenReviews.com
Our AssessmentTwenty-two VoIP providers get detailed reviews and ratings here, and are all are included in a detailed chart that compares features. The site also includes a video about VoIP. Though it's possible for users to add their own reviews and ratings, only a few have been published. We'd rank this review site higher if the testing methods were better documented.
7. MSNBC
June 2, 2010
Ooma Telo Is Great Internet Phone Device
by Peter Svensson
Our AssessmentIn this Associated Press review, reprinted at MSNBC.com, Peter Svensson says he has tried many VoIP products, but the original Ooma was the first one that he and his wife found good enough to keep. After using it for more than a year, he compares it with the newer Ooma Telo, explaining each version's pros and cons.
8. DSLReports.com
As of July 2013
Charts: The Good, the Bad and the Ugly
by Contributors to DSLReports.com
Our AssessmentThis comparison chart, updated weekly, is based on user-written ratings and reviews of 15 VoIP providers. Each service gets ratings on six separate factors: website, call quality, technical support, ease of installation, reliability and overall value. However, there are only a handful of recent reviews for each VoIP provider. The larger site includes reviews of many more VoIP services, plus a chart that organizes them into those reported by satisfied users, those who are not completely pleased, and those who are largely displeased. Most services also have discussion forums here.
9. The New York Times
Aug. 26, 2010
Google Shakes It Up Again With Free Phone Calls
by David Pogue
Our AssessmentDavid Pogue says Voice Calls from Gmail are easy to do and sound clear in his tests, even using built-in laptop speakers and microphones. He notes that the feature only works from computer to phone, not phone-to-phone -- for now.
10. PCMag.com
Aug. 25, 2010
Hands On: Google Voice Calls via Gmail
by Mark Hachman
Our AssessmentMark Hachman reports some snafus when he tries to call people from Gmail, including one call that refused to connect and mixed results for sound quality. For now, he says, the feature "remains a curiosity" with limited value.
11. Laptop Magazine
Aug . 26, 2010
Hands-On With Gmail VoIP: Gmail Adds the Kitchen Sink
by Eric Chiu
Our AssessmentVoice Calls from Gmail sound "consistently decent" in Eric Chiu's test. He says a landline call from Gmail sounds better than on an HTC Droid Incredible phone.
12. CNET
July 12, 2010
Replace Your Landline with $199 Ooma Telo
by Rick Broida
Our AssessmentRick Broida, who writes The Cheapskate blog for CNET, says he's just about ready to ditch Vonage in favor of a then new VoIP solution, the Ooma Telo. He says Telo's call quality seems better in his initial test, and he likes the idea of no more monthly bill (except a nominal one for 911 and other fees). More than 50 user comments are posted.
13. Amazon.com
As of July 2013
VoIP
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentOwners review quite a few VoIP-related devices here, including the Ooma Telo, the magicJack and others. Of these, the Ooma Telo receives an impressive rating of 4.4 out of 5 stars due to 3,000 customer reviewers, of which more than 2,000 award the maximum five stars.
14. San Francisco Chronicle
Jan. 25, 2010
After Up-Front Cost, Ooma Has Edge Over Vonage
by David Einstein
Our AssessmentIn this short reader Q&A, David Einstein recommends Ooma over Vonage. Vonage offers free international calls, but Ooma's are only pennies, and Ooma has no monthly fee.
15. EVDOInfo.com
Updated April 5, 2010
Product Spotlight: Ooma Telo & Handset
by Editors of EVDOInfo.com
Our AssessmentThis review of the Ooma Telo springs from (and links to) an earlier detailed and well-illustrated review of the original Ooma, both over Cox Cable and a 3G wireless network (Sprint EVDO). Call quality is excellent over cable, but the reviewer warns that using it on a 3G network requires an excellent signal.
16. VoIPReview.org
As of July 2013
VoIP Service Provider Reviews and Ratings
by Contributors to VoipReview.org
Our AssessmentThis site publishes user-written reviews and ratings, with listings that can be sorted by the average rating. Only a few providers have accumulated reviews from enough users to make their overall ratings useful. Several lesser known VoIP services get higher average ratings than better known providers.
17. WhichVoIP.com
As of July 2013
Residential VoIP Providers Reviews
by Contributors to WhichVoIP.com
Our AssessmentThis site has quite a few articles on VoIP and also lets people rate and review their VoIP services. A chart features seven VoIP providers. Both ITP and Phone Power have high ratings from a significant number of reviewers.
18. NextAdvisor.com
As of July 2013
VoIP Reviews & Prices
by Editors of NextAdvisor .com
Our AssessmentSeven VoIP providers get full reviews and ratings here, though the emphasis is on features; no testing is documented. All the reviews are basically positive, but Vonage, VoIP, Phone Power and Phone.com receive full marks.
Sponsored Links

Back to top