Page: 3 of 3
In this report

Waffle Irons: Ratings of Sources

Total of 11 Sources
1. ConsumerReports.org
Oct. 13, 2015
Waffle Makers That Make Your Morning
by Kimberly Janeway
Our AssessmentEditors at ConsumerReports.org test six waffle irons and find that they all do quite decently, although there is one standout favorite. Although they don't assign their usual comparative ratings in several categories, they do list the waffle irons in order of preference and explain which characteristics led to those placements.
2. TheSweetHome.com
Nov. 2, 2015
The Best Waffle Maker
by Winnie Yang
Our AssessmentThe editors of TheSweetHome.com enlist the help of four experts and put in 40 hours of research to test 15 waffle makers. They choose a winner, a runner-up, and a budget pick, then offer an in-depth review of each. The coverage is balanced and comprehensive.
3. Good Housekeeping
Not Dated
Waffle Makers
by Editors of Good Housekeeping
Our AssessmentThe Good Housekeeping Research Institute evaluates more than 20 waffle irons and assigns each a star rating. Each waffle maker also gets a short summary and a brief list of pros and cons, although it'd be nice to get more comprehensive notes on their performance. These reviews are relatively recent, all dating from 2012 or 2015.
4. Cook's Illustrated
November 2009
Stovetop Waffle Irons
by Editors of Cook's Illustrated
Our AssessmentAlthough this review of waffle irons dates back about six years, it's still relevant because the products haven't changed much. Editors put six waffle irons through intensive testing and chose just one "highly recommended" model and one "recommended" model.
5. Bon Appetit
Feb. 28, 2012
The 3 Best Waffle Makers, Ever (According to Our BA Test Kitchen)
by Editors of BonAppetit.com
Our AssessmentWorkers in the BonAppetit.com test kitchen evaluated more than a dozen waffle irons and chose three as their favorites. Each of their three picks gets the shortest of summary reviews, usually just a sentence or two, along with a cute moniker, like "The Workhorse" or "The Posh Touch" that explains what they excel at.
6. Chowhound.com
Nov. 29, 2013
Waring Pro Belgian Waffle Maker (WMK600) Review
by CHOW Editors
Our AssessmentAlthough the editors of Chowhound.com don't compare the Waring Pro WMK600 directly to other models, they provide a useful "quick hit" roundup of its best and worst qualities, followed by a comprehensive review of its performance, which is clearly based on hands-on testing. Ultimately, it garners a rating of 4.5 stars out of 5.
7. Amazon.com
As of December 2015
Waffle Makers
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentAmazon.com offers several hundred options when it comes to waffle makers; we narrowed our search by accounting for the highest-rated models with the most user reviews. That translated to an average rating of 4.3 stars or better after at least 20 user reviews, or a near-perfect rating of 4.9 or 5 stars after 10 or more user reviews.
8. JCPenney
As of December 2015
Waffle Makers
by Contributors to JCPenney.com
Our AssessmentWaffle makers are quite popular with JCPenney.com shoppers; more than 20 models are available, and most draw quite a few user reviews. Our top picks received an average rating of 4 stars or better after at least 10 user reviews.
9. Wayfair.com
As of December 2015
Waffle & Pizzelle Makers
by Contributors to Wayfair.com
Our AssessmentMore than three dozen types of waffle makers and pizzelle makers -- an unrelated, but similar appliance -- are available at Wayfair.com. User reviews tend to be very brief but useful, because they get right to the point. Standout models get a 4-star or better average rating after at least 20 user reviews.
10. Walmart.com
As of December 2015
Griddles & Skillets
by Contributors to Walmart.com
Our AssessmentWaffle irons are grouped in with griddles and skillets at Walmart.com, and the selection includes a few models we didn't see anywhere else. We take special note of any models that get a 4-star or better rating after at least 20 user reviews.
11. GroomandStyle.com
Not Dated
Top 5 Best Waffle Maker Reviews
by Editors of GroomandStyle.com
Our AssessmentThe editors of GroomandStyle.com don't make it clear whether they've subjected these waffle makers to hands-on testing, but a few stray comments make us think they at least tried each appliance. They certainly did their research, offering a comprehensive evaluation of each model's specs and general performance.

Waffle iron for camping

Coleman Waffle Iron
Coleman Waffle Iron

Back to top