Sponsored Links
Page: 5 of 5
In this report

Weather Radios: Ratings of Sources

Total of 12 Sources
1. EHam.net
As of April 2014
Receivers: Weather Alert
by Contributors to eHam.net
Our AssessmentThis site for ham radio enthusiasts includes reviews of weather radios based on users' personal experience. Navigation is easy, with comments listed in a table format that can be sorted by average rating, number of reviews, last review date or price. Contributors seem knowledgeable about radios and typically provided detailed, insightful feedback. Most of the radios listed are older models, and many are discontinued, though information on current radios is also available.
2. WXForum.net
As of April 2014
Weather Radios
by Contributors to WXForum.net
Our AssessmentThis weather-enthusiast website includes a discussion forum on weather radios. Traffic is light, so there isn't much feedback here, but we found a few threads comparing weather radios. The most recommended model overall is the Midland WR-300, but newer threads contain more recommendations for some Reecom weather radios. We also found several threads here that discuss troubleshooting issues for various radios.
3. RadioReference.com
As of April 2014
Severe Weather/Storm Chasing
by Contributors to RadioReference.com
Our AssessmentThis radio communications website includes a forum on severe weather and storm chasing. While there's not a lot of discussion here about weather radios, a search on "review" led us to several threads that recommend particular models. The most recommended radio is an inexpensive model from Reecom, which doesn't get nearly as much feedback at retail sites as radios from Midland or Etón.
4. Amazon.com
As of April 2014
Weather Radios
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentAmazon.com lists than 450 weather radios for sale, though some of these are the same model in different colors or sizes. We found many models with 250 reviews or more, and a handful of these receive exceptional overall ratings of 4.5 stars out of 5 or better. The quality of the write-ups varies greatly, with the most illuminating reports coming from users who have needed to rely on their radios in an emergency.
5. Walmart.com
As of April 2014
Weather Radios
by Contributors to Walmart.com
Our AssessmentWalmart sells just a small selection of weather radios, and most of them don't get a significant amount of feedback from users. However, we found a few Midland models with strong ratings from 50 users or more. The quality of user comments varies, ranging from vague remarks to useful details. Each review indicates how long the reviewer has owned their weather or emergency radio and how often they use it.
6. RadioShack.com
As of April 2014
Weather Radios
by Contributors to RadioShack.com
Our AssessmentWe found about 70 weather radios for sale at RadioShack.com, but most of those receive no reviews from users, and only one has more than a dozen or so. However, this site is the best place, if not the only one, to find feedback on weather radios from Radio Shack's own house brand. Most reviews here are quite short, but they include a summary of pros and cons.
7. BHPhotoVideo.com
As of April 2014
Showing results for"weather radios"
by Contributors to BHPhotoVideo.com
Our AssessmentB&H Photo and Video's selection of emergency weather radios is limited, and you have to dig through listings for non-weather radios to find what you're looking for. We found only one weather radio with a substantial number of customer reviews, though others have limited feedback. The reviews themselves include a list of pros and cons, which the site helpfully sums up at the top of the page.
8. ModernSurvivalBlog.com
Jun. 6, 2013
Weather Radio Reviews 2013
by Ken Jorgustin
Our AssessmentThis survivalist blog puts out an annual list of the top weather radios based on reviews at Amazon.com. The blogger, Ken Jorgustin, considers not just the number of reviews and overall rating, but also the percentage of users who give the radio 4 or 5 stars. Although the recommendations here overlap with those at Amazon.com, the site provides a useful summary of features and user opinions for the top-rated models.
9. EmergencyPlanGuide.org
Not dated
Emergency Radio Reviews
by Virginia Nicols
Our AssessmentThis website focuses on emergency preparedness. In this post, Virginia Nicols discusses features to look for in an emergency radio and evaluates five radios from her own family's collection. Each radio gets only a short write-up a few sentences long, but that's enough to get a sense of its strongest points. Nicols recommends four radios and specifically recommends avoiding an inexpensive Durapro model that fails to live up to its name.
10. WeatherRadioGuide.com
Updated April 28, 2011
Weather Radio Reviews
by Weather Radio Reviews
Our AssessmentGraham McClung, an amateur weather enthusiast, reviews eight weather radios on this site. Although no new reviews have been posted since April 2011, most of the radios covered here are still available. McClung's reviews are based on features rather than testing, combined with an analysis of user feedback from retail sites. He also doesn't actually rate or rank the various models. Still, his reviews provide a useful summary of each radio's pros and cons.
11. Bestcovery.com
Not dated
Best Weather Radio
by Marc Gottlieb
Our AssessmentThis overview of top weather radios showcases five picks. It provides a nice summary of each radio's features, along with an overall rating on a 5-star scale. However, the reviews don't include any information about testing methods or even why these five models were chosen over others.
12. WorldTravelGuide.com
Not dated
Best Emergency Portable Radios - The Best Solar and Hand Crank Wind Up Radios
by Editors at WorldTravelGuide.com
Our AssessmentThough this article initially makes vague reference to multiple radios, editors at WorldTravelGuide.com specifically focus on running down the perks and details of a single model of hand-crank emergency radio, the Etón Scorpion. The review focuses on features, with essentially no attention to performance and durability. Still, hikers and backpackers may find this information valuable, since it emphasizes weather radio portability.

Weather Radios Runners Up:

Midland WR-300 Est. $45

4 picks including: Amazon.com, Walmart.com…

Reecom R-1630 Est. $40

2 picks including: Amazon.com, EHam.net…

Eton Microlink FR160 Est. $30

1 pick including: Amazon.com, TopTenReviews.com…

Sangean DT-400W Est. $55

1 pick including: Amazon.com, RadioShack.com…

image
MIDLAND WR300 Weather Radio
Buy from Amazon.com
from Amazon.com
New: $79.99 $37.45   
In Stock.
Average Customer Review:  
image
Sangean DT-400W AM/FM Digital Weather Alert Pocket Radio
Buy from Amazon.com
from Amazon.com
New: $69.95   
In Stock.
Average Customer Review:  
Sponsored Links

Back to top