Sponsored Links
Page: 6 of 6
In this report

Wine Openers: Ratings of Sources

Total of 17 Sources
1. Cook's Illustrated Magazine
May 2013
Wine Openers
by Editors of Cook's Illustrated
Our AssessmentEditors conduct a two-stage evaluation of lever-style wine openers, starting with 17 models and winnowing that down to seven in a runoff test. Wine openers are tested on both natural and synthetic corks, and editors say the best lever-type models are intuitive, compact and inexpensive. The original test is dated May 2011, but in a May 2013 update one recommendation is rescinded due to subsequent findings that it breaks under moderate use.
2. Cook's Illustrated Magazine
May 1, 2009
Electric Wine Openers
by Editors of Cook's Illustrated
Our AssessmentEditors test three cordless, rechargeable electric wine openers and recommend two based on criteria including speed, accuracy and handling. The top models work as well as and with far less effort than editors' favorite manual-style opener, and they suggest that electric styles are great for opening multiple bottles at parties.
3. ConsumerReports.org
November 2008
Easy Electric Corkscrews
by Editors of ConsumerReports.org
Our AssessmentEditors test electric wine openers and recommend two, but there's no ratings chart or description of testing methodology. The very short article is accompanied by a list of nonelectric wine opener alternatives that has helpful diagrams.
4. Good Housekeeping
Not dated
Corkscrews
by Editors of Good Housekeeping
Our AssessmentTesters at the Good Housekeeping Research Institute review 24 corkscrews and recommend six, although four of those are discontinued. The Pedrini 7 Soft Grip Corkscrew and Oxo Waiter's Corkscrew are still available.
5. Amazon.com
As of August 2013
Corkscrews & Openers
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentAmazon.com carries a large assortment of wine openers, although many attract no more than a handful of reviews. However, the True Fabrications Wood Professional Corkscrew, Metrokane Rabbit, Metrokane Vertical Rabbit and Le Creuset Waiter's Friend receive more owner feedback along with high average ratings. The Oster 4207, Waring WO50 and a handful of models by Ozeri earn top scores for electric styles.
6. About.com
Not dated
Wine Corkscrews and Bottle Openers
by Stacy Slinkard
Our AssessmentSlinkard lists her favorite types of corkscrews and wine openers, naming both branded products and generic styles. Her top picks include the Pulltap Wine Corkscrew, Metrokane Rabbit, Oster Electric Wine Bottle Opener and Ah-So-Cork Puller. Although she doesn't specify a testing methodology, she has a great deal of experience in the wine industry as a writer and educator.
7. About.com
Not dated
Top 10 Must Have Wine Accessories, Tools and Gadgets
by Stacy Slinkard
Our AssessmentSlinkard includes the Vinturi Wine Aerator and Pulltap Corkscrew among her top 10 must-have wine accessories. She calls the Vinturi Aerator "efficient" and well built, and finds the Pulltap Corkscrew durable and "super easy" to use. She doesn't describe a testing methodology or evaluation of competing products, but her bio shows that she has a lot of experience writing and teaching about wine.
8. The Wall Street Journal
July 26, 2007
Popping the Cork, Easily
by Anjali Athavaley
Our AssessmentAthavaley covers only four wine openers, but it appears each one is tested. Although write-ups are brief, they include comments about each opener, and list prices and places to shop. The Brookstone Connoisseur's Countertop Wine Opener (discontinued), Metrokane Rabbit and Metrokane Houdini receive the highest recommendations; the now-discontinued Built Wine Rachet Magnum requires force and probably isn't best for those who struggle to open a bottle of wine.
9. Target.com
As of August 2013
Wine Openers
by Contributors to Target.com
Our AssessmentTarget.com carries numerous corkscrews and wine openers, but few attract an appreciable number of user reviews. Two exceptions are noteworthy: the Emerson Electric Wine Bottle Opener gets an average rating of 5 stars out of 5 from nearly 50 users and the Oster Electric Wine Bottle Opener gets 4.5 stars out of 5 after about 40 reviews.
10. Walmart.com
As of August 2013
Wine Opener
by Contributors to Walmart.com
Our AssessmentAlthough Walmart.com sells multiple corkscrews and wine openers, most attract little owner feedback. However, the Oster 4207 gets nearly 300 reviews and an average rating of 4.6 stars out of 5.
11. The Wall Street Journal
Oct. 29, 2011
The Best Corkscrews
by WSJ Test Kitchen
Our AssessmentEditors at The Wall Street Journal's test kitchen name five corkscrews as the best, saying their aesthetics, ease of handling, flawless extraction and quality of workmanship set them apart. The picks include the Screwpull Advanced Leverpull, Jean Dubost Laguiole, and Peugeot Baltaz, Elis Electric and Mathus. Editors don't say whether they test any products that don't make the list.
12. ChefsCatalog.com
As of August 2013
Wine Openers
by Contributors to ChefsCatalog.com
Our AssessmentChefsCatalog.com carries a limited assortment of wine openers that attract few user reviews. The one exception is the Waring Cordless Wine Opener WO50B, which gets 4.5 stars out of 5 from nearly 50 owners.
13. Cooking.com
As of August 2013
Wine Openers & Tools
by Contributors to Cooking.com
Our AssessmentCooking.com allows consumers to rate products they purchase on the site, but most of the wine openers here get few or no reviews. However, the Red Wine Aerator by Vinturi attracts more than 20 posts and more than 30 ratings, and earns 5 stars out of 5.
14. About.com
Not dated
Metrokane Rabbit Corkscrew
by Mariette Mifflin
Our AssessmentAbout.com's housewares and appliances guide highly recommends the Metrokane Rabbit Corkscrew, calling it quick, easy and comfortable to use. She adds that it's built to last and comes in a package suitable for gift-giving, but doesn't discuss testing or whether other products were evaluated. Even so, her bio indicates a good deal of experience writing about housewares items.
15. Buzzillions.com
As of August 2013
Corkscrew & Opener Reviews
by Contributors to Buzzillions.com
Our AssessmentWhile many wine openers at Buzzillions.com get just a few reviews, the Wine Enthusiast Electric Push Button Corkscrew attracts feedback from nearly 200 owners and gets 4.5 stars out of 5. The Red Envelope Entertainment Hootch-Owl Corkscrew, Metrokane Vertical Rabbit and Wine Enthusiast Pulltop Double-Hinged Waiter's Corkscrew are also highly rated, but get only about 30 comments each.
16. Bloomberg Businessweek
Oct. 13, 2008
Metrokane Vertical Rabbit
by Jessie Scanlon
Our AssessmentScanlon praises the Vertical Rabbit for its ease of use, sleek styling and improved design over past Rabbit models. She calls the current design "friendlier" than a previous one but dislikes the foil cutter, which requires a two-step process to open a bottle of wine. She doesn't compare this opener to any other products.
17. Epinions.com
As of August 2013
Wine Openers & Stoppers
by Contributors to Epinions.com
Our AssessmentEpinions.com lists almost 250 wine openers and corkscrews, but only a few attract owner posts. The discontinued Screwpull Lever LX gets the most feedback, with nearly 25 comments and 5 stars out of 5. The Metrokane Rabbit also receives about 25 reviews but gets only 3 stars out of 5.
Sponsored Links

Back to top