Sponsored Links
Page: 4 of 4
In this report

Wireless Cards: Ratings of Sources

Total of 14 Sources
1. PCMag.com
As of July 2011
Cellular Modems
by Editors of PCMag.com
Our AssessmentPCMag.com tests more mobile hotspots and USB modems than any other source we found. Experts here cover about 20 current devices, including popular ones from AT&T, Sprint, T-Mobile, Verizon and Virgin Mobile. They test each device's speed, battery life and more, giving each one a star rating and naming Editors' Choice models for each carrier.
2. Mobile-Broadband-Reviews
As of July 2011
Category Archives: Broadband Cards
by Marc Aarons
Our AssessmentThis website publishes some of the most up-to-date, critical reviews we've found for mobile broadband and the devices it uses. Here, Marc Aarons lists five major carriers -- AT&T, Sprint, T-Mobile, Verizon and U.S. Cellular -- each with a chart detailing its available USB modems and mobile hotspots, their potential speeds, prices and more. He concludes by naming the best devices for each carrier. Although Aarons covers all of the major USB modems and mobile hotspots currently on the market and backs up his picks with reasoning and expertise, he doesn't write full, test-based reviews for each individual device as PCMag.com does.
3. CNET
May 20, 2011
4G Mobile Internet Access Roundup
by Dong Ngo
Our AssessmentCNET rates five USB modems and mobile hotspots from four carriers (Clear, Sprint, T-Mobile and Verizon) in this chart. Tester Dong Ngo likes the concept of mobile hotspots, but he says he can't recommend them over the faster USB modem from Verizon (the VL600). Another USB modem, the Clear's 4G+ Series S, includes data storage space. The Clear modem earns an Editors' Choice tag, but both the Verizon and Clear USB modems get the same rating -- 4 out of 5 stars. We found a couple of other current mobile broadband device reviews in the Modems and Routers review categories.
4. PC World
As of July 2011
Networking and Wireless
by Editors of PC World
Our AssessmentPC World has recently tested about half a dozen USB modems and mobile hotspots from Clearwire, Sprint, T-Mobile and Virgin Mobile. Each one gets a full write-up with a list of pros and cons, a star rating and clear buying advice. The Virgin Mobile MiFi 2200 and Sprint's Sierra Wireless Overdrive mobile hotspot get the highest ratings -- 4.5 out of 5 stars.
5. Geek.com
As of July 2011
Articles Tagged: Mobile Hotspot
by Sal Cangeloso
Our AssessmentSal Cangeloso has tested current mobile hotspots from AT&T, Sprint and Verizon for Geek.com in Manhattan. Each device gets a thorough, well-illustrated write-up with clear buying advice. Among 4G-capable mobile hotspots, the Verizon MiFi 4510L achieves a very fast download speed of about 15.4 Mbps in Cangeloso's test and is "the one to get." Cangeloso also separately tests a Verizon USB modem, the VL600, and says it's "the best bet" for lots of mobile speed, reaching about 16.5 Mbps in the test.
6. Laptop Magazine
As of July 2011
Content Tagged: Mobile Broadband
by Editors of Laptop Magazine
Our AssessmentLaptop Magazine tests six current mobile hotspots and USB modems from AT&T, Sprint, T-Mobile and Verizon. The Verizon hotspot and USB modem are fast, but the Sprint MiFi 3G/4G Mobile Hotspot gets better battery life and includes unlimited 4G; the Editors' Choice award goes to the Sprint MiFi 3G/4G Mobile Hotspot by Novatel Wireless.
7. PC World
Oct. 19, 2010
Mobile Hotspots: Which Are Fastest, Most Reliable?
by Mark Sullivan and Ken Biba
Our AssessmentPC World tests mobile hotspots from three carriers -- AT&T, Sprint and Verizon -- head-to-head against tethered or hotspot-capable smartphones from the same carriers, to see which method of connecting to the Internet works better. The hotspots work best overall -- the Verizon MiFi hotspot is the testers' favorite -- although the tethered iPhone 4 and an AT&T USB modem stuck into a Cradlepoint hotspot also work well. PC World tests in six locations around San Francisco, which only had 3G at the time. Since then, Verizon has introduced an upgraded MiFi that can handle 4G speeds as well as 3G.
8. PC World
Sept. 1, 2010
Portable Hotspots are the Future of Mobile Broadband
by Tony Bradley
Our AssessmentMobile hotspots -- specifically, mobile hotspots that don't force you to sign a contract -- will take over the market unless contract carriers get more competitive, Tony Bradley says. He singles out the Virgin Mobile MiFi (also rated highly in another PC World review, above) and Clearwire's Rover Puck as two economical ways to set up a mobile wireless hotspot that you can share among several devices.
9. Arstechnica.com
As of July 2011
Gear and Gadgets
by Editors of ArsTechnica.com
Our AssessmentExperts at ArsTechnica.com test a few USB modems and mobile hotspots, with very well written, helpful reviews. But although they clearly point out pros and cons for each device, they don't pick any favorites. The most recent reviews cover the Verizon VL600 USB modem, the Verizon MiFi 4510L mobile hotspot and the Clear Rover Puck.
10. MobileTechReview.com
As of July 2011
MobileTechReview News, Reviews and Forums
by Editors of MobileTechReview.com
Our AssessmentReviews here are test-based, well written and cover all of the major bases, but with some drawbacks: they're hard to find, the site hasn't reviewed many mobile broadband devices and all of the devices get similar ratings. The T-Mobile Rocket 2.0, Verizon Samsung 4G LTE Mobile Hotspot SCH-LC11 and Verizon LG 4G USB Modem VL600 all get 4 stars out of 5. The Verizon Wireless 4G LTE USB Modem 551L trails only slightly, with 3.5 stars.
11. EngadgetMobile.com
April 27, 2011
T-Mobile 4G Mobile Hotspot Review
by Dana Wollman
Our AssessmentEngadget Mobile has reviewed only one mobile broadband device recently, the T-Mobile 4G Mobile Hotspot. But it's a valuable review -- not only because it's thorough and well written, but also because Engadget Mobile's tests turn up some problems with the hotspot's performance that other reviews don't. Testers have problems getting a connection even where they should be able to, and speeds aren't always fast.
12. Macworld
As of July 2011
Networking and Wireless
by Editors of Macworld
Our AssessmentMacworld gets some of its reviews from its sister publication, PC World (above) -- including the reviews for both of the top-rated mobile hotspots here -- but it does publish some original reviews, including ones for the Clearwire iSpot and Clearwire Rover Puck (both get mediocre ratings).
13. GottaBeMobile.com
As of July 2011
Category: Reviews
by Editors of GottaBeMobile.com
Our AssessmentAlthough he doesn't pick any favorites, GottaBeMobile.com's Chuong Nguyen does a thorough job covering three versions of the MiFi mobile hotspot -- the latest from Verizon, Sprint and AT&T. He speed-tests them all and compares them in full written and video reviews. The AT&T hotspot doesn't do badly, but it's 3G-only; the Verizon network (and its MiFi device) proves fastest, but Sprint has the advantage of no data caps. Fellow reviewer Xavier Lanier reports a slow experience with a Sprint Sierra Wireless Overdrive mobile hotspot.
14. Buzzillions.com
As of July 2011
Wireless Card Reviews
by Contributors to Buzzillions.com
Our AssessmentBuzzillions.com scours other websites for user reviews, and then aggregates them here. This is the best place we found to get user feedback on current USB modems and mobile hotspots, but reviews are still fairly scarce here. None of the devices with more than a handful of reviews has been able to maintain a high rating.
Sponsored Links

Back to top