Page: 2 of 2
In this report

Yoga Mats: Ratings of Sources

Total of 14 Sources
Jan. 25, 2013
The Best Yoga Mat Review
by Brian Blum
Our AssessmentBlum and several testers compare a dozen yoga mats and towels, rating them in several categories: dry traction, wet traction, comfort, durability, portability, eco-friendliness and ease of care. Mats and towels receive a score on a 1-100 scale as well as an editor's rating from one to five stars. Accompanying reviews are thorough and comparative, noting pros and cons for each product.
March 24, 2015
The Best Yoga Mat
by Jessica Cassity
Our AssessmentCassity and two other yoga instructors tested 16 mats in more than 50 classes to name a top pick, runner-up, budget pick, eco pick, and softer pick. Testers performed a variety of yoga styles while they evaluated each mat for slipperiness, texture, cushioning, weight, smell and appearance. The resulting reviews are detailed, even-handed and comparative.
Sept. 22, 2015
The Best Yoga Mat
by AJ Govoni
Our AssessmentGovoni, a yoga instructor, spent 50 hours researching mats and several more doing hands-on testing. She recommends nine mats as overall best picks, singling a handful out for special considerations: eco-friendliness, budget, durability/versatility, and stickiness. Govoni includes a buying guide and comments from other yogis in her thorough reviews.
July 27, 2015
Best Yoga Mat Review
by Editors of
Our AssessmentOnline yoga video provider Ekhart Yoga reviews 10 yoga mats using several criteria: thickness, stickiness and texture, price, material, eco friendliness, and size and style. It recommends several mats as best in the following categories: An overall pick for serious yogis, eco-friendliness, anti-slip, budget, travel and member favorite. Reviews are balanced but not as thorough as some on other sites.
5. Outside Online
Not Dated
The Top 5 Yoga Mats
by Ali Carr Troxell
Our AssessmentAli Carr Troxell's five picks for best yoga mats are based on personal testing as a frequent yoga practitioner over the years. Her reviews cover thickness, stickiness, eco-friendliness, durability and style. However, it's unclear whether she tested any mats other than the ones she lists.
July 24, 2012
3 Yoga Mats for Sweating, Not Slipping
by Lisa Mitchell
Our AssessmentLisa Mitchell reviews mats she has used as an owner and instructor at a hot yoga studio. She offers pros and cons for three popular mats, focusing on stickiness, durability, and ease of cleaning -- all prime considerations for hot yoga. The reviews are thorough but not comparative.
As of November 2015
Yoga Mats
by Contributors to
Our is one of the best resources for real-world reviews of yoga mats. Reviews are often quite detailed and even-handed, and some note durability concerns that are often overlooked in other reviews. Prospective buyers should read carefully, since reviewers sometimes wrongly fault a product for bad experiences with the seller or shipping. Readers should also beware of older reviews, which might discuss an older version of a product with flaws that have since been addressed.
As of November 2015
Yoga Mats
by Contributors to
Our AssessmentGaiam sells roughly 70 yoga mats, and the more popular ones have a good number of reviews. Owners rate each mat on a one- to five-star scale and note how long they've been using it. Reviews range in helpfulness, but generally aren't as detailed as those on Amazon.
Not Dated
Hot Yoga Towels: A Good Investment or Unnecessary Expense?
by Editors of
Our AssessmentEditors review two popular yoga towels, the Yogitoes Skidless and Manduka eQua, in the American Council on Exercise Workout Watchdog column. The reviews are thorough, covering size, weight, feel, and slippage. They are also balanced, noting pros and cons for both towels.
Not Dated
How Much Do You Need to Spend on a Good Yoga Mat?
by Molly Goodson
Our AssessmentGoodson reviews six popular yoga mats, and while she does practice yoga, it's unclear whether she tested all six mats personally. The reviews cover price, thickness, durability and other important considerations. They also reference owners' Amazon reviews as well as other expert opinions. She does not pick a favorite, but notes a "bottom line" for anyone considering each mat.
Sept. 30, 2015
Ultimate Yoga Mat Comparison Chart
by Ann Pizer
Our AssessmentPizer gives an overview of five of the most popular yoga mats, in a couple of cases linking to more detailed reviews. A chart offers a direct comparison of material, thickness, weight, length, odor, feel, traction, durability and price. However, it doesn't appear that Pizer has personally tested all of the mats.
April 3, 2014
Top 5 Yoga Mats for Traveling in 2014
by Brandon Quittem
Our AssessmentQuittem, a globe-trotting yogi, compares five popular travel mats in short but informative reviews. He provides pros and cons for all mats, focusing on bulk, thickness, stickiness and other considerations. A comparison chart focuses on weight, price, durability, padding, and other factors.
Nov. 26, 2014
Travel Yoga Mat Guide
by Candace Moore
Our AssessmentThis guide by Moore, a yoga instructor and frequent traveler, looks at four popular travel mats, comparing them directly on surface feel/stickiness, thickness/weight, and portability. Pros and cons are noted for each mat, and there are helpful photos of how compactly each mat folds or rolls up.
Nov. 5, 2014
Top 5 Yoga Mats for Bikram Yoga
by Ysmay Walsh
Our AssessmentYoga teacher Walsh ranks and recommends five yoga mats specifically for Bikram yoga, a style of hot yoga that often makes practitioners quite sweaty. The reviews focus on stickiness and ease of cleaning, but ignore many other important considerations such as price. It's not clear if all of the mats were actually subject to hands-on testing. 

Back to top