Sponsored Links
Page: 7 of 7
In this report

Yoga Videos: Ratings of Sources

Total of 22 Sources
1. Fitness Magazine
Not dated
The Best New Workout DVDs of 2012
by Karla Walsh
Our AssessmentFitness magazine selects the top fitness and exercise DVDs of 2012. More than 100 women offer feedback on the videos, including pros and cons. Reviews are brief, but include helpful information as to necessary equipment and calories burned. Shiva Rea: More Daily Energy is a top pick for a beginner to intermediate yoga routine.
2. FitSugar.com
Dec. 18, 2012
Best of 2012: The Fitness DVDs That Made Us Sweat
by Lizzie Fuhr
Our AssessmentThis roundup of top workout DVDs of 2012 lists seven titles that are favorites of the FitSugar.com staff. Tara Stiles' This Is Yoga is the only yoga DVD selected. Fuhr gives a brief summary of the video's best points, including Stiles' excellent instruction.
3. ThatsFit.com
As of February 2013
DVD-Reviews
by Editors of ThatsFit.com
Our AssessmentThis health and wellness website run by AOL reviews a large number of older yoga videos and fitness DVDs. Analysis is balanced, and editors list what they like and dislike about each title. The DVDs aren't rated, but bottom-line recommendations are good indicators of how each yoga video fares in testing.
4. More
Not dated
The Best Yoga DVDs
by Editors of More.com
Our AssessmentHealth editors at More magazine's website pick 11 of the best yoga DVDs in this slideshow review. Each title gets a brief write-up, and it's clear that editors actually try each. However, testing details aren't disclosed, so we don't know why these videos are picked over others.
5. iVillage.com
Dec. 20, 2011
The Best Exercise DVDs for Any Fitness Goal
by Jessica Smith
Our AssessmentSmith selects 56 top workout DVDs, several of which are yoga titles. Brief but insightful reviews include what the video's like, why she chose it, any necessary equipment and the expected fitness level of participants. However, it's unclear how the DVDs are tested and by what criteria they're selected.
6. O, The Oprah Magazine
September 2012
Transform Your Workout: The 6 Best New Exercise DVDs
by Editors of O, The Oprah Magazine
Our AssessmentO Magazine editors select six new workout DVDs in this recent article, but it's not explained how they're tested or by what criteria they're judged. While famed yoga instructor Tara Stiles' This Is Yoga is the only yoga pick, the write-up provides little information.
7. FitBottomedGirls.com
April 9, 2012
10 Favorite Workout DVDs From a Guy Who Knows His Workouts (& Giveaway!)
by "Jenn"
Our AssessmentDarren Capik, CEO of Watch It Now Entertainment, lists his top 10 workout DVDs that engage the "body and mind." Each title gets a brief description, but there's no indication how the videos are tested and reviewed. Tara Stiles' This Is Yoga is a top choice.
8. Fitness Magazine
March 2009
Our Best Yoga and Pilates Exercise Videos
by Marianne Magno
Our AssessmentThis slideshow review from Fitness magazine discusses both Pilates and yoga titles. Write-ups are disappointingly brief, and editors discuss no downsides to the videos. Shiva Rea's yoga DVDs receive especially high marks.
9. Fit Pregnancy
April 2011
Just Press Play
by Sarah Bowen Shea
Our AssessmentFit Pregnancy magazine reviews 12 workout videos designed for pregnant women. Only two yoga titles earn a nod, including Element: Prenatal and Postnatal Yoga. Shea describes the benefits of each, but the videos themselves aren't rated or compared.
10. Amazon.com
As of February 2013
Yoga Videos
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentAmazon.com is the best source for user reviews of yoga DVDs. Many titles attract dozens of individual comments, and the top-rated videos can have hundreds. Few yoga DVDs get poor ratings. Several stand out for the sheer number of owner reviews, including Bryan Kest's Power Yoga and Shiva Rea Prenatal Yoga.
11. Woman's Day
March 3, 2010
10 Best Fitness DVDs
by Abigail L. Cuffey
Our AssessmentTwo yoga videos are recommended from this list of the best workout DVDs at Woman's Day magazine. Cuffey likes both Shiva Rea Daily Energy and Felstead's Yoga for Runners. The videos are only briefly reviewed, however, and few downsides are mentioned.
12. DVDTalk.com
As of April 2011
DVD Reviews
by Editors of DVDTalk.com
Our AssessmentDVDTalk.com evaluates only about 20 yoga videos, but its balanced analysis and rating system make it worth a look. The best yoga titles earn Highly Recommended labels, while the worst receive a Skip It designation.
13. Chicago Sun Times
Jan. 20, 2011
Pregnancy Exercises
by Tammy Chase
Our AssessmentChase discusses two yoga videos for pregnant women in this review for the Chicago Sun-Times. Element: Prenatal and Postnatal Yoga is recommended for beginners interested in classic poses, and Shiva Rea's Prenatal Yoga is called a good fit for those who want to focus on relaxation. In a separate article, Chase reviews Element's Yoga for Stress Relief and Flexibility.
14. About.com
April 7, 2009
My Favorite Yoga Videos
by Paige Waehner
Our AssessmentWaehner, the exercise guide at About.com, recommends seven yoga videos as her top picks. Each DVD gets a brief overview and it's clear that Waehner has hands-on experience with each, but the workouts aren't rated. Favorites include Rodney Yee's Power Yoga and Ali MacGraw Yoga Mind and Body.
15. Collage Video.com
As of February 2013
Stretch, Yoga and Tai Chi Videos
by Editors of CollageVideo.com
Our AssessmentCollageVideo.com is most helpful for reading descriptions of yoga videos and watching short clips. However, the content is largely superficial, and doesn't discuss pros and cons. User reviews are available for some titles.
16. FitSugar.com
Dec. 16, 2009
FitSugar's Top Fitness DVDs of 2009
by Editors of FitSugar.com
Our AssessmentFitSugar.com looks at eight fitness videos in this brief review. The DVDs aren't rated, but each one links to a longer segment that discusses the workout in more depth. Just one yoga video is listed, and that review hasn't been updated in more than three years.
17. CNET
June 27, 2007
10 Less Than Ordinary Fans to Keep Cool
by Jean Aw
Our AssessmentJean Aw rounds up 10 stylish (mostly designer) fans that she says are both effective and easy on the eyes. She includes several Vornado fans in the list, saying she finds them to be the most reliable. Reviews vary in length and detail, and it's not clear if she personally used all the fans or just likes their looks.
18. About.com
June 18, 2012
Yoga Video Reviews
by Ann Pizer
Our AssessmentPizer, the yoga guide at About.com, reviews a handful of newer yoga videos in detailed articles. Some user comments are included, and most titles get ratings. While the majority earns positive feedback, Pizer's analysis is well balanced.
Fitness Etcetera
by Editors of Today's Diet & Nutrition
Our AssessmentEditors endorse four exercise DVDs, including three yoga titles. Kimberly Fowler's The No Om Zone is recommended for newbies who are "intimidated by yoga," while Yoga: Spirit of Vinyasa Flow is a top pick for those who prefer traditional yoga. Shiva Rea Yogini is also named. In a separate article, Element: Yoga for Stress Relief and Flexibility and Shiva Rea Power Flow Yoga get Editor's Picks.
20. Video Fitness.com
As of February 2013
Yoga Videos
by Editors of VideoFitness.com
Our AssessmentThis site provides single-product reviews of hundreds of yoga videos, but quality varies and we saw no titles more recent than 2009. User comments are included. This exhaustive listing may be helpful for finding reviews of a particular yoga DVD, but it isn't great for picking the best ones overall.
21. The Washington Post
May 13, 2010
DVDs That Focus on Workout Side of Yoga
by Vicky Hallett
Our AssessmentThe Washington Post offers brief reviews of two yoga DVDs that offer instruction without chanting or lifestyle tips. Jillian Michaels' Yoga Meltdown combines "cardio with power poses," and Kimberly Fowler's The No Om Zone is said to be "ideal for newbies who are short on time."
22. The Providence Journal
As of February 2013
Projo Fitness Blog
by Pamela Reinsel Cotter
Our AssessmentThe Providence Journal reviews workout equipment and gear, including the occasional yoga video, in its fitness blog. Write-ups are reasonably detailed, but only one yoga title has been reviewed in the last couple of years. The most recent posts are dated 2011.
Sponsored Links

Back to top