Sponsored Links
Page: 6 of 6
In this report

Yoga Videos: Ratings of Sources

Total of 35 Sources
1. YogaDVDs.net
2011-2012
Best Yoga DVD Roundups
by Editors of YogaDVDs.net
Our AssessmentYogaDVDs.net features several roundups: best new yoga DVDs, best DVDs for athletes, yoga DVDs for weight loss, yoga for kids DVDs and pregnancy yoga DVDs. Some of the roundups are getting a bit outdated, but they link to full reviews that are very thorough and note pros and cons for each title.
2. YogaUniverse.com
Not Dated
Yoga DVD Reviews: Best Yoga Videos Overview
by Tiffany Chion
Our AssessmentYoga teacher Tiffany Chion picks her favorite yoga videos after trying "hundreds of yoga videos and DVDs." Her list includes 11 titles with reviews that range from brief to very thorough. Though the list notes a couple of cons for some of the titles, most of the information is positive.
3. A Charmed Yogi
March 2, 2013
And My Favorite Online Yoga Class Site Is …
by Lisa Agostoni
Our AssessmentYoga blogger Agostoni tests six online yoga sites based on ease of use, load time, variety, navigation, teachers, video clarity, video quality and iPad compatibility. Though she does not thoroughly review each site, she notes where most excel or fall short, and picks YogaGlo as her favorite.
4. RobynHurst.com
Jan. 2, 2013
Yoga Video Recommendations
by Robyn Hurst
Our AssessmentThough she says it's by no means an all-inclusive list, yoga teacher Robyn Hurst picks her favorite titles in three categories: beginner/all levels, intermediate/advanced and specialty videos. The reviews range from thorough to very brief, and some of the picks are Christian-centered.
5. The Wall Street Journal
July 18, 2013
Online Yoga Classes Aid Busy Schedules
by Laura Moser
Our AssessmentMoser names several online yoga sites in this roundup after testing a dozen. She makes picks in three categories: best for exploring, best for consistency and best for variation. The reviews are thorough, comparative and note pros and cons.
6. Broke-Ass Yogi
June 14, 2013
Review of YogaGlo
by "Serena"
Our AssessmentThis yogi's blog features several reviews of yoga products and online yoga sites, including YogaGlo. The reviews are thorough and based on real-world testing. Some are comparative, and most note pros and cons for each program.
7. Amazon.com
As of April 2014
Yoga DVDs
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentAs one of the largest online retailers in the U.S. with a long-standing tradition of collecting user reviews, Amazon.com offers a wealth of user feedback on popular yoga videos, including nearly all of those covered in this report. Amazon.com reviews are useful for anecdotal information about DVDs and for gathering consensus about instructors, production and ease of use.
8. Gaiam.com
As of April 2014
Yoga Videos
by Contributors to Gaiam.com
Our AssessmentGaiam is one of the biggest and most well-known producers of yoga videos in the country. It includes user reviews for each title on its website. Users rate DVDs on a five-star scale. Reviews vary from thorough to quite brief -- generally, they aren't as informative as reviews on Amazon.com.
9. About.com
Feb. 27, 2013
Best Yoga DVDs
by Ann Pizer
Our AssessmentAnn Pizer, About.com's yoga expert, picks nine yoga DVDs in several different categories: best for beginners, best hybrid workout, best power yoga, best east coast, best west coast, best old school, best Rodney Yee, best Ashtanga and best online. The blurbs are short, but some link to more thorough reviews that note pros and cons.
10. About.com
March 23, 2012
Review: Yoga for Beginners by Barbara Benagh
by Paige Waehner
Our AssessmentAbout.com's guides pen a wide range of product reviews in their areas of expertise, including this one on "Yoga for Beginners," which is reviewed by Paige Waehner, About.com's guide to exercise. Reviews rate products on a five-star scale and frequently note pros and cons. Some are more thorough than others, but they tend to be authoritative and well researched.
11. About.com
June 24, 2012
Review - Prenatal Yoga with Shiva Rea
by Ann Pizer
Our AssessmentAnn Pizer, About.com's guide to yoga, features a number of reviews of yoga products, including this one on "Prenatal Yoga with Shiva Rea." Reviews rate products on a five-star scale and frequently note pros and cons. Pizer's reviews tend to be very thorough and knowledgeable.
12. About.com
June 18, 2012
Review - Yogadownload.com
by Ann Pizer
Our AssessmentThe yoga website YogaDownload.com is reviewed by About.com's guide to yoga, Ann Pizer. She discusses the various styles at the site, as well as its variety and quality of instruction, ease of use and cost. It's a thorough and helpful review.
13. Alignyo.com
Oct. 29, 2013
Online Yoga: 10 Sites for Streaming Yoga Classes
by Ally Garner
Our AssessmentYoga site Alignyo.com rounds up 10 sites that offer yoga classes online. The blurbs are short and uniformly positive, but they note what makes each site different and highlight any particularly well-known instructors. It's unclear whether the sites were tested.
14. Answers.com
Not Dated
Reviewing Shiva Rea Daily Energy DVD
by Bonny Pfiester
Our AssessmentThough content quality varies widely on Answers.com, fitness expert Bonny Pfiester is a 20-year fitness veteran with clear, authoritative articles. Her review on "Shiva Rea Daily Energy" is thorough, noting pros and cons.
15. FitBottomedGirls.com
Nov. 7, 2013
Review: Jillian Michaels Yoga Inferno Workout DVD
by Jennipher Walters
Our AssessmentFitness blog Fit Bottomed Girls features a large number of product reviews and roundups, including this review of "Jillian Michaels Yoga Inferno." Reviews are thorough and rate each title on a five-star scale in the following categories: instruction, long-term likeability, music, fun factor and meets expectations.
16. MerelyMothers.com
April 3, 2013
The Best (and Worst) Prenatal Exercise DVDs
by "Evanthia"
Our AssessmentThis roundup includes nine titles and provides thorough, easy-to-read reviews for each one. The information is balanced, noting pros and cons, and the writer clearly personally tested each one, but the list is not yoga-specific.
17. More
Not Dated
The Best Yoga DVDs
by Editors of More
Our AssessmentMore magazine's editors pick 11 yoga titles to appeal to a variety of audiences, classifying each DVD by skill level. The accompanying reviews are informative but do not note any cons. It's unclear whether the DVDs were systematically tested.
18. ReviewMonkey.net
Not Dated
Yoga DVD Reviews: Top 5 Best Yoga DVDs
by Editors of ReviewMonkey.net
Our AssessmentReviewMonkey bases its picks on expert and owner reviews from around the web. Reviews are fairly thorough, including important specs, but they sometimes only have positive information. The yoga DVD picks are accompanied by a buying guide that has helpful information but is poorly written.
19. Shape
Sept. 12, 2012
Tara Stiles Makes Daily Yoga Feasible
by Heidi Pashman
Our AssessmentShape includes a number of product reviews for fitness gear and workout DVDs, including this one on "Tara Stiles: This is Yoga." Reviews vary widely in scope and detail, but most appear to be based on real-world testing.
20. Ro-ren's Blog
Oct. 19, 2012
Review: YogaGlo vs. My Yoga Online
by "Lauren"
Our AssessmentThough this is largely a personal blog, blogger Lauren provides a very thorough, comparative review of YogaGlo and My Yoga Online that discusses ease of use, instructors, quality of classes, production quality and price for both sites. She includes screenshots to illustrate her points.
21. ElephantJournal.com
June 25, 2013
Yoga Classes Online: What Works
by Stephanie Vessely
Our AssessmentElephant Journal focuses on yoga, sustainability and other conscious-living topics. Its review of Yoga Download is very thorough, noting pros and cons of the website and the experience of online yoga in general.
22. About.com
June 12, 2013
Best Sites for Online Yoga Videos
by Ann Pizer
Our AssessmentThis roundup of Ann Pizer's, the About.com guide to yoga, focuses on eight online yoga services. The blurbs are short, focusing on each site's most distinctive characteristics. Only YogaGlo and GaiamTV are reviewed in depth. It's unclear whether Pizer has tested all of the sites herself.
23. About.com
Not Dated
Top 10 Pregnancy Workout Videos
by Robin Elise Weiss
Our AssessmentRobin Elise Weiss, About.com's pregnancy and childbirth expert, picks 10 "top" workout videos for pregnancy. The blurbs are short, but some are accompanied by more thorough reviews. It's unclear whether Weiss has tested all of the titles and when the roundup was published, however.
24. FitBottomedGirls.com
April 9, 2012
10 Favorite Workout DVDs from a Guy Who Knows His Workouts (& Giveaway!)
by Jennipher Walters
Our AssessmentFitness blog Fit Bottomed Girls features a large number of product reviews and roundups, including this roundup by Darren Capik, CEO of Watch it Now Entertainment. Each title gets a brief description, but there's no indication how the videos are tested and reviewed. "Tara Stiles: This is Yoga" is one of his selections."
25. Fitness Magazine
Not Dated
The Best Yoga DVDs of 2014
by Samantha Shelton
Our AssessmentThis roundup dubs five yoga DVDs "the best of 2014," including "Jillian Michaels Yoga Inferno." The reviews are very brief and positive, and it's unclear how they were made or whether the DVDs were systematically tested.
26. PopSugar.com
Dec. 6, 2013
Our 5 Favorite Fitness DVDs from 2013
by Lizzie Fuhr
Our AssessmentThis roundup is based on Lizzie Fuhr's experiences "testing the hottest DVDs on the market" for 2013 and includes "Jillian Michaels Yoga Inferno." The brief blurbs are informative but uniformly positive, and the picks seem to focus heavily on celebrity-instructor releases.
27. PopSugar.com
Dec. 18, 2012
Best of 2012: The Fitness DVDs That Made Us Sweat
by Lizzie Fuhr
Our AssessmentThis roundup again features Lizzie Fuhr's picks, but for 2012, and includes "Tara Stiles: This is Yoga." The brief blurbs are informative but uniformly positive, and the picks seem to focus heavily on celebrity-instructor releases.
28. PopSugar.com
May 17, 2013
Websites That Offer Free (or Dirt-Cheap) Yoga Classes
by Jenny Sugar
Our AssessmentThis roundup highlights seven online yoga sites, with short blurbs that discuss what makes each one distinct. No cons are noted, and it's unclear whether any testing was performed.
29. PopSugar.com
Nov. 1, 2012
DVD Review: Tara Stiles This is Yoga
by Lizzie Fuhr
Our AssessmentPopSugar's fitness section FitSugar features several workout DVD reviews, including this one of "Tara Stiles: This is Yoga." Reviews are thorough, but vary in scrutiny: Some offer pros and cons, others are uniformly positive. All are based on real-world testing.
30. FitPregnancy.com
Not Dated
Prenatal Exercise DVD
by Editors of Fit Pregnancy magazine
Our AssessmentThis roundup features eight prenatal and four postnatal DVDs. It rates each title according to fitness level and includes a short blurb, but the information is uniformly positive. It's also unclear whether the programs were tested in any way.
31. Self Magazine
June
Prenatal Workout DVDs for Every Fitness Style!
by Dana Meltzer Zepeda
Our AssessmentThis roundup highlights three workout DVDs for pregnant mothers, including Prenatal Yoga with Desi Bartlett. The accompanying blurbs give only cursory information about each title, however, and it's unclear whether the reviewer actually tested the programs.
32. LisaLiving.Well.com
April 25, 2013
Gaiam TV Review
by "Lisa"
Our AssessmentThis blogger chronicles her attempts at maintaining a healthy lifestyle and includes several thorough fitness-related reviews, including one of GaiamTV. Though many products were provided by the companies for review purposes, most reviews are thorough and even-handed.
33. TippyToeDiet.com
May 29, 2012
Review: GaiamTV
by Cammy Chapel
Our AssessmentThis blogger chronicles her attempts at maintaining a healthy lifestyle and includes several thorough fitness-related reviews, including one of GaiamTV. Though many products were provided by the companies for review purposes, most reviews are thorough and even-handed.
34. TheRuniverse.com
May 15, 2013
Yoga Download: Yoga on Your Schedule
by Emilie Littlehales
Our AssessmentRuniverse covers a blend of running-related topics including gear, nutrition and training. It has an extensive review section filled with a wide variety of fitness-related products, including one of Yoga Download. Though many products were provided by the companies for review purposes, most reviews are thorough and even-handed.
35. O, The Oprah Magazine
September 2012
Transform Your Workout: The 6 Best Exercise DVDs
by Editors of O, The Oprah Magazine
Our AssessmentEditors select six workout DVDs that have a unique take on at-home fitness. However, it's unclear how the videos are tested and by what criteria they're judged. "Tara Stiles: This is Yoga" is the top yoga pick, but little information is given.

Yoga Videos Runners Up:

Tara Stiles: This is Yoga Est. $20

6 picks including: Amazon.com, Shape…

Yoga Download Est. $10 to $18 per month

4 picks including: About.com, ElephantJournal.com…

GaiamTV Est. $9.95 per month

3 picks including: About.com, PopSugar.com…

Prenatal Yoga with Desi Bartlett Est. $9

3 picks including: Amazon.com, Self Magazine…

Jillian Michaels Yoga Inferno Est. $10

2 picks including: Amazon.com, Fitness Magazine…

Shiva Rea Daily Energy Est. $14

1 pick including: Amazon.com, More…

Shiva Rea's Prenatal Yoga Est. $13

1 pick including: About.com, Amazon.com…

Rodney Yee's Yoga for Beginners Est. $10

1 pick including: Amazon.com, Gaiam.com…

image
Prenatal Yoga with Desi Bartlett
Buy from Amazon.com
from Amazon.com
New: $14.99 $6.08   
In Stock.
Average Customer Review:  
image
Jillian Michaels Yoga Inferno
Buy from Amazon.com
from Amazon.com
New: $14.98 $7.02   
In Stock.
Average Customer Review:  
image
Shiva Rea: Daily Energy - Vinyasa Flow Yoga
Buy from Amazon.com
from Amazon.com
New: $19.99 $9.59   
In Stock.
Average Customer Review:  
image
Prenatal Yoga With Shiva Rea Dvd
Buy from Amazon.com
from Amazon.com
New: $19.99 $10.00   
In Stock.
Average Customer Review:  
image
Rodney Yee's Yoga for Beginners
Buy from Amazon.com
from Amazon.com
New: $14.98 $7.04   
In Stock.
Average Customer Review:  
Sponsored Links

Back to top